YARMOUTH — Two town councilors will not seek re-election in June.

Nomination papers for the June 14 municipal elections are available at the town clerk’s office at Town Hall. Three council seats, two School Committee seats and two seats on the Water District Board of Trustees, all for three-year terms, are on the ballot.

The council seats are held by Chairman Jeff Darrell, Vice Chairman Tom Renehan and Councilor Bill Schaffer. Darrell has served two consecutive three-year terms and is ineligible to run again; Renehan can serve another term, but said at an April 4 Operations Committee meeting that he does not intend to run.

Schaffer can serve another term and has taken out nomination papers.

“I enjoy working with the council and the interaction with the town, but there is not a lot of job satisfaction involved in this position,” Renehan said. “For me, there is no personal satisfaction.”

Renehan said in his 13 years as a Yarmouth resident he has served 11 years as a volunteer or committee member. He said he will most likely try to serve on another committee, but not as a councilor.

Town Clerk Jennifer Doten said as of Tuesday, April 5, Schaffer was the only resident who has taken out nomination papers for a council seat.

The two seats available on the School Committee are held by Judiann Smith and Kent Pierce. Margaret Groban of Starboard Reach and Smith have taken out papers, Doten said. 

The Water District positions are held by Charles Sawyer and Irving Felker. Since there are no term limits, they are eligible to run again, but only Felker has taken out papers, Doten said. The board includes four residents of Yarmouth and one North Yarmouth resident.

Doten said residents who are considering running for one of the boards should at least take out nomination papers.

“I encourage people to start the process and the first step is taking out papers,” she said. “I hope people start being participatory and take that first step.”

Nomination papers containing 25 signatures must be returned to Town Hall, 200 Main St., by 4 p.m. on Monday, May 2.

Voting on June 14 will take place at the AMVETS Hall on North Road. The annual Town Meeting will be on June 7 at 7 p.m. at Harrison Middle School.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter: amy_k_anderson.

Facebook comments

filed under: