Falmouth High’s sailing team placed fourth at the New England School Sailing Association Fleet Racing Championships, also known as the O’Day Trophy, held April 16-17 in Marion, Mass.

Competing against more than 50 high school teams from throughout New England, Falmouth was one of four teams from the O’Day Trophy regatta that qualified for the Interscholastic Sailing Association Fleet National Championships (the Mallory Trophy) to be held May 7-8 in Austin, Texas. A total of 20 schools nationwide qualify for the championships. Only one other Maine team has participated in the event.

Team members at the O’Day regatta were Francesco Montanari, Hollister Poole, Charlie Lalumiere, Myles Everett, Ellie MacEwan and Jackson Bloch. Michael McAllister is the team’s coach.


Ben True of North Yarmouth, a graduate of Greely High and Dartmouth College, picked up a check for $5,000 for winning the first Boston Athletics Association 5-kilometer race offering prize money on April 17.

The top four men finished within two seconds of each other but True’s kick pushed him over the same finish line used in Monday’s marathon in 14 minutes, 7 seconds.


Steve Roscia of Wells was elected New England Amateur Softball Association Umpire in Chief.

Roscia has been involved with ASA as an umpire for 31 years and has served for 12 years as Maine Amateur Softball Association Umpire in Chief.

In his duties as regional UIC he will attend workshops in each of the New England states and will run be assigned to ASA national tournaments and will be a voting member of the Amateur Softball Association National Council.


Vin Sanzari aced the eighth hole at Sable Oaks Golf Club in South Portland. Sanzari used a 9-iron for the 130-yard shot, which was witnessed by Steve Stresser.



Maine Milestones includes news and photos of local athletes and teams, providing a place for items that otherwise might have a hard time finding a spot in the sports section.

This reader-submitted material ranges from an individual getting a hole-in-one to a youth team winning a championship. Photos should be sent in .jpg format, and all emails should be sent to: [email protected]