A determined Yarmouth girls’ lacrosse team won the Class B state championship Saturday night, beating longtime rival and powerhouse Waynflete 9-8 under the lights at Fitzpatrick Stadium.

The Clippers (14-1), forced to play a man down after losing one of their top players to a pair of yellow cards, used a late goal by Danielle Torres to take their final lead with 6:40 to play and then held on through multiple momentum swings and big plays.

The Clippers (14-1) last won a state title in 2007.

Yarmouth rolled to a 3-0 lead by the 16:40 mark of the first half on goals by Torres, Becca Bell and Devin Simsarian.

But Waynflete fought back with a goal from Mica Thompson and a pair form Sadie Cole. The Clippers then regained the lead on a Torres conversion from traffic with 3:22 left in the first half.

Waynflete tied the game again just 1:02 into the second half on a goal by Lucy Crane, but Yarmouth went up 5-4 on a Bell goal at 22:13.

Bell was disqualified from the rest of the game with 20:50 to play. Her first yellow card was for slashing in the first half, the second for a dangerous play.

Three minutes later, the Flyers took their first lead on goals by Martha Veroneau and Sadie Cole.
Yarmouth got a pair of goals from Natalie Salmon to go up 7-6 with 12:02 left, then Cole struck again to tie it at 7 with 11:02 remaining.

Torres scored at 10:30 to put Yarmouth back in front, but Veroneau answered after running the length of the field.

Torres then buried the decisive goal on a free position.

Veroneau engineered Waynflete’s best chance in the final minute, carrying the ball 80 yards before a pass to a teammate went out of bounds.

The game started at 7:30 p.m., two hours after its original start time, because of a storm that rolled through, drenching the field.