• The Margaret Chase Smith Library has announced the winners of its 15th annual essay contest. The theme was stewardship of the environment.

First prize of $500 went to Zoe Anderson of Medomak Valley High School, Waldoboro.

Second place, with a $250 award, went to Ali Clift from Bonny Eagle High School, Standish.

Third place and $125 were presented to Allaina Murphy of St. Dominic Regional High School, Auburn.

Five honorable mention prizes of $25, along with a book about Senator Smith, were awarded to Devyn Bell, Dexter Regional High School; Joe Bosse, St. Dominic Regional High School; Sarabeth George, Bonny Eagle High School; Krysta Moulton, Madison Area Memorial High School; and Kaity Richard, Acadia Christian School, Trenton.


• Yarmouth High School: Forty-three students have earned AP Scholar Awards in The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program.

Benjamin Jones, qualified for the National AP Scholar Award.

Thirteen students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award: Andrew Beckmann, Campbell Belisle Haley, Rebecca Bell, Annika Blake-Howland, Michelle Clark, Andrew George, Benjamin Jones, Benjamin Nickerson, Connor O’Donnell, Spencer Soucy, Nathaniel Steinbock, Alison Totta and John Walsh.

Seven students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award: Julia Butler, Andrew DiMarco, Jonathan Drouin, Connor Ertz, Alex Hensley, Natalie Salmon, and Danielle Torres.

Those qualifying for the AP Scholar Award are: Samuel Coleman, Daniel Connor, Alexandra Craig, Caitlin Crawford, Susannah Daggett, Ashley Eaton, Smythe Eddy, Lucy Ericson, Amelia Gallay, John Gilman, Kyle Groves, Samuel Kapner, Dinah King, Rachel Nixon, Lucas Pierce, Lindsey Purpura, Anne Ryan, Aidan Sullivan, Patrick Vigue, John Watterson, Hannah Waxman and Madeline Wood.


St. Dominic Regional High School, Auburn: Kevin Cullen recently attended the 2011 Presidential Academy for American History and Civics at Ashland University in Ohio. The academy is funded by the U.S. Department of Education. For more information, visit:


Private School Graduation

The Governor’s Academy, Byfield, Mass.: John Lapoint, Kennebunk.