PORTLAND — The Bank of Maine today announced its five finalists for the 2011 Leadership and Luminaries Award.

An independent committee, which was appointed by the bank, selected Dr. Vernon L. Moore of Counseling Services Inc. of Saco, Norm Rodrigue of the Kennebec Land Trust, Dr. Barbara Covey of the Kennebec Valley Dental Coalition, Thomas B. Wright of the Seeds of Peace and Susan Brackett of The Opera House of Boothbay Harbor.

The grand prize winner, who will receive $10,000 on behalf of their organization, as well as the remaining finalists – they will each get $2,500 – will be recognized on Dec. 1 at the Harraseeket Inn in Freeport.

Two individuals, Peter Burbank of the Maranacook Education Foundation, and Horace Walton of York Hospital, will receive awards posthumously.

The first annual “Focus on Philanthropy: The Art of Leadership” forum will also feature a panel discussion moderated by former Maine governor Angus King. Panelists will include keynote speaker Lisa Walker, Managing Director of Newman’s Own Foundation, and former U.S. Senator and governor of Connecticut, Lowell Weicker.

The event at the Harraseeket Inn is scheduled to run from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m.