Susan Robbins of Yarmouth High School was chosen as athletic director of the year by the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association, becoming the first female to win the award.

Other award winners announced at the MIAAA’s annual spring conference:

Award of Excellence: Dennis Kiah, Brewer

Award for Excellence in Leadership: Dennis Walton, Biddeford

Special Achievement Awards: Tim Watt, Fort Fairfield; Randy Morrisson, Calais; Molly Bishop, Richmond; Scott Walker, Morse; Sally Boivin, Spruce Mountain; Tim Smith, Foxcroft Academy; Todd Livingston, South Portland; Ross Burdick, Waynflete

Professional Development Award: Jeff Ramich, Leavitt

7th Player Award: Robert Sinford, Machias

Distinguished Service Outside the Field: Duffy Akerley (swim official) and Dennis Bishop (wrestling official)

Media Awards: Bob McPhee, Sun Journal (print); and Chris Popper, Blueberry Bangor (electronic)

Scholar Athletes: Lauren Steidl, Cape Elizabeth; and Drew Townsend, Oceanside

Scholar Essayists: Katrina Lapham, Belfast; and Jace Valls, Kennebunk

Excellence in Middle Level Athletic Administration: Bob Gilman, Falmouth

Maine Sports Hall of Fame Award: Mike Burnham, Maine Principals’ Association