BIDDEFORD – Pat Wolfe scored five-goals as the University of New England beat Wentworth 12-10 in men’s lacrosse Saturday to win the Eastern College Athletic Conference Division III championship.

Dan O’Gorman contributed three goals while Eddie Burke scored twice to help the top-seeded Nor’easters (14-5) capture their first championship in program history.

Keeper John Suel made 10 saves for the Nor’easters.


BOWDOIN 10, SUNY-GENESCO 6: The Polar Bears (15-3) scored nine times in the second half to rally past the Knights (13-6) in the NCAA Division III championships at Cortland, N.Y.

Jordan Smith tied it 6-6 for Bowdoin and Lindsay Picard then scored the go-ahead goal at 9:37.

Tara Connolly stopped 11 shots for Bowdoin, which faces host Cortland in the quarterfinals at 1 p.m. Sunday.

TCNJ 11, COLBY 9: The Lions (15-4) used a late four-goal run to pull away from the Mules (13-5) in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division III championship at Hartford, Conn.

Colby’s Tess Petesch had three goals in her final game. Kate Pistel scored twice to end her career with over 150 points.

MOUNT HOLYOKE 16, SOUTHERN MAINE 6: Kirsten Kilburn had five goals for Mount Holyoke as the second-seeded Lyons (12-4) ousted third-seeded Southern Maine (12-8) from the ECAC Division III New England tourney with a semifinal win at Springfield, Mass.


TRINITY 5, BOWDOIN 3: Joe Papa hit an RBI single in the seventh inning as the Bantams (21-18) scored twice to take the lead and eliminate the Polar Bears (23-15) from the NESCAC tournament at New Britain, Conn.

BINGHAMTON 4, MAINE 3: David Schanz singled home a run in the bottom of the 10th inning to lift the Bearcats (25-19, 14-10 America East) over the Black Bears (29-19, 16-8).


ROWAN 2, SAINT JOSEPH’S 0: Jennifer Arcella hit a two-run home run in the top of the fifth inning as the Profs (39-8) eliminated the Monks (34-13) from the NCAA Division III championships at Babson Park, Mass.

SPRINGFIELD 2, HUSSON 1: The Pride (28-19) gave up a first-inning run before eliminating the Eagles (31-12-1) from the NCAA Division III championships at Babson Park, Mass.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.