Biddeford Mayor Alan Casavant easily won a second term Tuesday, edging out two challengers who said he was leading the former mill town in the wrong direction.

In the three-way race for mayor, incumbent Casavant was challenged by former two-term Mayor Joanne Twomey and Perry Aberle, who became the youngest city councilor in Biddeford history when he was elected at 18 in 1993.

Casavant won all seven wards and took 57 percent of the overall vote. About 30 percent of the city’s 13,753 registered voters cast ballots.

“I’m thrilled that the people of Biddeford have decided that the policies we’ve chosen in the last two years are the right ones,” he said. “They’re willing to accept the changes we’ve implemented to economically and culturally better the city.”

Casavant, who also is a state representative, unseated Twomey in 2011 by a nearly 2-1 margin.

“This (victory) was especially sweet because I’ve had a small group of detractors who have repeatedly said we’re going in the wrong direction,” Casavant said. “The voters are saying we’re going in the right direction and change is good.”


A total of 17 candidates ran for nine City Council seats.

In Ward 1, incumbent Michael Swanton won a second term with 430 votes. Challenger Ronald Peaker had 217 votes.

In Ward 2, former four-term City Councilor John McCurry was returned to the panel with 209 votes, ousting incumbent David Bourque, who had 150 votes. Political newcomer Andrew Russell received 35 votes.

Ward 3 Councilor Bradley Cote ran unopposed.

In a close race in Ward 4, political newcomer Robert Quattrone Jr. narrowly beat Dominic Deschambault, who ran for the first time. Quattrone had 275 votes to Deschambault’s 247.

In Ward 5, Councilor Bob Mills easily beat challenger Carol Boisjoly. Mills received 237 votes and Boisjoly had 189.


In Ward 6, Council President Rick Laverriere was ousted by the first challenger he faced since Laverriere was elected eight years ago. Former City Councilor Roger Hurtubise won with 331 votes to Laverriere’s 236 total.

Ward 7 Councilor Michael Ready ran unopposed.

In the race for two at-large seats, incumbents Roch Angers and Richard Rhames were ousted to make room for two former city councilors. Marc Lessard (1,408 votes) and Clement Fleurent (1,684 votes) will return to represent the entire city on the nine-member council.

Gillian Graham can be contacted at 791-6315 or at:ggraham@pressherald.comTwitter: @grahamgillian

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.