CUMBERLAND — Vickie Bell and incumbents Pete Wilson and John Simpson won seats Tuesday on the School Administrative District 51 Board of Directors.

Bell, of Willow Lane, defeated Turnberry Drive resident Tim Ferris, 804-306, for a one-year term. Simpson, Wilson, and Leo Paquin of Old Colony Lane ran for two open three-year seats, receiving 735, 541 and 464 votes, respectively.

Bell, 48, is married and has two sons attending SAD 51 schools. Until last March, she worked at Hannaford Bros. Co., first in real estate development and then human resources. Her HR experience focused on retirement benefit communication and compliance issues. She formerly practiced law at the Portland firm of Verrill Dana.

A Cumberland resident since 1997, Bell is treasurer of the Greely Parent Teacher Organization.

Wilson, 67, of Oak Ridge Road, is married with three children, and has lived in Cumberland most of his life. Now retired, he had worked in the field of corporate income tax.

Simpson, 53, of Island View Drive, has lived in Cumberland for 12 years and has two children. He is an attorney with the North Yarmouth firm of Thaddeus Day, and his background includes work in corporate finance, law and information technology.

Simpson has also owned and managed MacImage of Maine, a computer software business, where he tried to establish a statewide, commercial provider of county records.

Simpson has coached student athletes in three sports seasons each year for 10 years.

The Cumberland Town Council appointed Simpson and Wilson in July 2013 for one-year terms after Co-Chairmen Jeff Porter and Bill Richards resigned.

North Yarmouth elections

The two open seats on the Board of Selectmen were uncontested. Mark Girard, who has served one term, received 312 votes, while Alex Carr, who last month announced himself as a write-in candidate, earned 124 votes. There were 414 write-in or blank votes.

Darla Hamlin of New Gloucester Road, who is finishing a first term, is not running for re-election. No one submitted nomination papers for Hamlin’s seat by the April 24 deadline.

Martha Leggat, who was unopposed for a second term on the School Administrative District 51 Board of Directors, received 346 votes.

Incumbent Pam Ames of Gray Road, the only person seeking election to one of two open Budget Committee slots, earned 368 votes. Kevin Desmond received 28 write-in votes for the other seat.

Joy Malloy of Royal Road, who was unopposed for another term on the Cemetery Commission, received 356 votes.

Cumberland council

With the Town Council race uncontested, incumbents Bill Stiles and Tom Gruber each earned new terms on the panel by respective votes of 1,048 and 1,028.

Alex Lear can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 113 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @learics.

Sidebar Elements




filed under: