Joe Fitzpatrick of Cheverus has been named Maine’s Gatorade Football Player of the Year.

Fitzpatrick, a senior running back, led Class A with 2,071 yards rushing and scored 27 touchdowns in helping the Stags to an 8-2 record.

Fitzpatrick was recently selected as the Eastern Maine Class A Player of the Year. He had four games where he rushed for over 200 yards and one with over 300 yards. Fitzpatrick is the third player from Cheverus to be named Gatorade Player of the Year, joining Peter Gwilym (2010) and Kevin Smith (1987).

Fitzpatrick, who has a B-plus grade point average, is undecided about his college plans.

GIRLS’ HOCKEY: Kristen Murray scored on an assist from Megan Doak with 38 seconds left in overtime to lift Scarborough (3-0) to a 2-1 win over Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland (2-2) at the Portland Ice Arena.

Scarborough took the lead 53 seconds into the game when Doak scored on an assist from Lucy Bogdanovich.

Maddy Pellow got the equalizer for Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland on a goal with 2:57 left in regulation, assisted by Eliza Connelly.

COURT RULES: An Oklahoma judge says a high school football semifinal will not be played Friday so he can consider whether a team that lost in the quarterfinals is entitled to a replay.

Locust Grove’s Class 3A semifinal against Heritage Hall was postponed until next week at the earliest.

The little school from northeastern Oklahoma beat Oklahoma City’s Douglass High last week after game officials misapplied a penalty with about a minute to go. The crew mistakenly erased a touchdown that had given Douglass a 25-20 lead.


HONORED: Goalkeeper Tim Howard was named the 2014 Player of the Year award for his work with the U.S. national team, his first time winning the award.

He beat out Jermaine Jones and Clint Dempsey.

Howard, 35, made eight appearances for the national team, including spectacular performances at the World Cup.

ARGENTINA: The death of third-division player Franco Nieto – pummeled and stoned by hooligans after a match – brings the toll to 15 this year in football-related deaths in Argentina.

Nieto, a player for the club Tiro Federal, was attacked Saturday and died on Wednesday.

The nonprofit group Salvemos al Football (Let’s Save Football) said at least 14 died in 2013.


HALL OF FAME: Riddick Bowe, who beat undisputed champion Evander Holyfield to win the heavyweight boxing title in 1992, and popular lightweight champion Ray “Boom Boom” Mancini have been selected for induction into the International Boxing Hall of Fame at Canastota, New York.


NASCAR: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won NASCAR’s prestigious Myers Brothers Award given to a person who makes significant contributions to the sport.

The award was named after short-track drivers Billy and Bobby Myers and has been presented annually since 1958.

– From staff and news services