Eleven Maine high school students have been named National Merit Scholarship winners.

National Merit Scholarship winners receive $2,500 scholarships and are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in college.

The winners were chosen by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who look at the students’ academic record, difficulty level of subjects studied, scores from standardized tests; leadership in school and community activities; a written essay; and a recommendation from a high school official.

The Maine scholarship recipients are:

Paige E. Brown, at Bangor High School; Isaac P. Webb, at John Bapst Memorial High School; William D. Steidl, at Cape Elizabeth High School; Matthew A. Pisini, at Greely High School; Faraz Sanal, at Falmouth High School; Coleman R. Dowdle, at Gorham High School; Benjamin S. Andrews, at Oxford Hills High School; Eva Jolan Farkas, at the Maine School of Science and Mathematics; Eleanor L. Graham, who is homeschooled; Elliot H. Youth, at Scarborough High School; and Walter R. Conrad, at Yarmouth High School.

Nationally, 2,500 Merit Scholars were chosen from over 15,000 finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program.