The Southern Maine Athletic Association has released its All-Conference and All-Academic awards winners for the spring season 2016, and a number of Eagles deservedly made the cut.

SMAA Honorable Mention – Zack Skillings
SMAA All-Academic Team – Mitch Eskilson, Dylan Koza

Windham faced its share of struggles on the diamond this year, but Skillings joins a proud group, alongside Dana McKay of Bonny Eagle, Kerry Crepeau of Biddeford, Cam Smith of Gorham, Adam DeAngelis of Massabesic, Bayley Welsh of Scarborough, Aaaron Radziucz of South Portland, Luke Chessie of Thornton, Tre Fletcher of Cheverus Corey Walker of Westbrook and more. 

SMAA Second Team – Danielle Tardiff (P), Sadie Nelson (C), Taylor Tibbets (2B), Katelyn Troiano (OF)
SMAA Honorable Mention – Megan Joy, Alex Morang
SMAA All-Academic Team – Sadie Nelson, Sierra Pattershall

The Lady Eagles made quite the run this season, so it’s no wonder several of their key figures earned distinction. Rounding out the pitching for the Second Team are Grace McGouldrick of Gorham and Louisa Colucci of TA; elsewhere in the field are Kaleigh Scoville of Scarborough (1B), Mackenzie Aleva of Noble (SS), Kaylee Burns and Hayden Campbell of TA (3B and OF), Joceyln Moody of Biddeford (OF) and Marli Wilson of Sanford (DP).

Boys Lacrosse
SMAA First Team – Zach Hough (A)
SMAA Second Team – Alec Emerson (D), Jacob Dionne (G), Chris Lekousi (U)
SMAA Honorable Mention – Jake Segal (D)
SMAA All-Academic Team – Connor Daigle, Jacob Dionne, Jason Nielsen, Jeff Pollard, Bryce Rolfe, Jake Segal

Hough joins a very elite crowd. Scarborough’s Sam Neugebauer and Gorham’s Alex York are the other First Team attackers, and the Red Storm won States while the Rams were runners-up in the South. Jack Fiorini (South Portland), headed to Syracuse; Curtis Knapton (Westbrook), All-American and SMAA Player of the Year; and Nate Richards (Deering) take to the midfield. The defensive positions are equally strong, especially with Gorham’s Carter Landry in net.

Girls Lacrosse
SMAA First Team – Hannah Skvorak (M), Mya Mannette (D)
SMAA Honorable Mention – Analyse Harris, Lyndsey Arsenault
SMAA Rookie Team – Grace Sawyer
SMAA All-Academic Team – Analyse Harris, Katie Herzig, Hannah Skvorak, Katie Skvorak, Sierra Yost

Like their Gentlemen counterparts, the Lady Eagles had an outstanding season. Skvorak and Mannette join a First Team also featuring talents like Maquila DiMastrantonio, Delia Sylvain and Madi Drain (all of No. 2 Massabesic) and Hannah Costin, Jenna Kashmer and Gabby Bazemore (all of No. 1 Marshwood).

Boys Tennis
SMAA All-Academic Team – Elijah McGill, Ryan Plummer, David Sepulveda, Isaac Sibley

Girls Tennis
SMAA First Team – Sarah Rich (singles)
SMAA All-Academic Team – Taylor Everett, Maelah Nadeau, Sarah Webb

Because tennis teams field only seven players in any given match, Rich joins an especially short list of players representing just a handful of schools. Her singles rostermates are Megan Nathanson (Scarborough), and Eva Sachs and Grace Pickering (Thornton), while on the doubles courts, Avery Arena and Lauren Poirier (Gorham), Kaicee Flaherty and Caitlin Merrill (Scarborough) and Pilar Salcedo and Claudia de la Hoz Garcia (Thornton) earn First-Team honors.

Boys Outdoor Track
SMAA All-Conference – Thomas Sappier (Shot Put), Rory Sullivan (Pole Vault), Ernie Ruby (100), Ben Breton (3200)

Sappier joins South Portlander Danny Guiliani and Biddeford’s Matt Brady in the Shot Put; Sullivan joins Scarborough’s dominant Sam Rusak, Sanfordite Pete Hegarty, and a handful of others in the Pole Vault; Ruby, the State Champ in the 100, is followed by Alex Arnold (TA) and Jabari Washington (Deering); and Breton finds himself sandwiched between Andrew Sholl and Colin Tardiff, both of Scarborough.

Girls Outdoor Track
SMAA All-Conference – Alexis Wintle (High Jump)

Wintle, a long-time contender in the High Jump, features alongside Westbrook freshman phenom Nyagoa Bayak, South Portland standout Lingdong Bol, and State Champion Moriah Biener of Massabesic.

Windhamite Jeff Pollard earned SMAA All-Academic distinction this spring.

Rory Sullivan of Windham, seen here in the Long Jump, earned All-Conference honors in the Pole Vault.

Jake Segal of Windham won both SMAA Honorable Mention and All-Academic distinction this spring.

Alongside teammates Maelah Nadeau and Taylor Everett, Sarah Webb earned All-Academic laurels this spring.

Windham’s Taylor Everett earned All-Academic honors this spring, as did a pair of her teammates.

Windham’s Maelah Nadeau earned All-Academic honors this spring.

Windhamite Mya Mannette, who earned First Team honors this spring, collides with a Lewiston opponent in playoff action.

Windham’s Hannah Skvorak garnered First-Team laurels this spring.

Zach Hough of Windham, seen here in mid-season action vs. Westbrook, joins an elite group of First-Team attackers.

Eagle Alec Emerson made the SMAA Second-Team cut this spring, alongside teammates Jacob Dionne and Chris Lekousi.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.