Tommy Bancroft, Oxford Hills sophomore: Of the seven boys who skied in all four championship events in both Alpine and Nordic disciplines, Bancroft was the most successful. Competing in Class A, he placed among the top 20 in slalom (12th), giant slalom (16th), freestyle (13th) and classical (19th).

Max Bartley, Presque Isle senior: Bartley emerged as Class B classic champion by 9.5 seconds over Luke Bartol of Maranacook. He was second by 2 seconds in the freestyle pursuit. Bartley also qualified for the Eastern high school championships.

Ian Geikie, Cape Elizabeth freshman: Geikie was the Class B giant slalom champion by 1.67 seconds and placed fifth in slalom to help the Capers win their first boys’ Alpine state title. At the Western Maine Conference championships, Geikie won the giant slalom and finished fourth in slalom.

Connor Jackson, Edward Little senior: Trailing by .14 after the first run, Jackson came back to win the Class A giant slalom title by .09 over Marshwood’s Sean Maguire. Jackson also placed third in slalom and was among 12 Maine boys who qualified for the Eastern championships.

Killian Lathrop, Cape Elizabeth sophomore: Lathrop won the Class B slalom championship to go along with a fourth place in giant slalom. At the WMC championships, he won slalom and was second in giant slalom. Lathrop placed 26th in giant slalom at the Eastern championships.

Ethan Livingood, Falmouth junior: After placing eighth in the Class A classic race, Livingood roared back with the fastest 5K freestyle to help Falmouth become runner-up to Mt. Blue in the team competition. He placed 68th in freestyle at the Eastern championships.

Nick Neveu, Maine Coast Waldorf senior: Neveu posted a 2-second victory in the Class B pursuit with the meet’s only sub-14 minute 5K freestyle performance among all Class B and C skiers. Neveu swept the WMC classic and freestyle titles to help Maine Coast win the conference team title.

Liam Niles, Portland sophomore: After placing second in the Class A classic race, Niles made up enough ground to win the freestyle pursuit title. At the Eastern championships, Niles was second among Maine skiers in the 7.5K classical. He also won the prestigious Sassi Memorial classic.

A.J. Noyes, Falmouth freshman: Noyes led Falmouth to a second straight Class A Alpine title by winning slalom and placing third in giant slalom. He also was the top Maine skier (14th overall) in the giant slalom at the Eastern championships.

Roy Varney, Leavitt junior: Varney opened the Class A Nordic championships with a 1.4-second victory in the 5K classic. He finished second in pursuit after falling in the freestyle race. Varney also won the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference classic and pursuit titles.

Coach of the Year

Jeff Davis, Cape Elizabeth: Despite key injuries, the Capers managed an unblemished record that included the Western Maine Conference title and the Class B Alpine championship – the first in school history. “We just kept the momentum going through states and everyone performed really well,” Davis said. “We had good chemistry.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.