New hours for non-food pantry Corner Cupboard

The Corner Cupboard, a non-food pantry, located at 5 Lebanon St., has announced a change in hours.

The pantry is now open from 10 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on the third Saturday of every month.

For more details, call the church office at 324-3191.


Noble High senior earns 2018 Principal’s Award

Noble High School senior Jarrod Rudis has been selected to receive the 2018 Principal’s Award in recognition of his academic achievements and citizenship.

Rudis is the son of Robert and Mary Rudis of Berwick. He will be recognized at a statewide award ceremony, along with other award winners and school administrators, on Saturday in Bangor.

The Honors Luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. Additionally, five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament. The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association that represents Maine’s school administrators.


Morse High School teacher wins language arts award

Johnna Stanton of Morse High School in Bath has received the Maine Council for English Language Arts’ inaugural Claudette and John Brassil Distinguished Educator Award, which honors the contributions of two educators who inspired students and mentored teachers for more than 80 combined years in Maine public schools.

Nominations for 2019 are now being accepted and are open to fulltime English language arts or literacy teachers of students in grades 6-12 who have taught for at least five years in public or independent schools in Maine. Nominees do not have to be a member of the Maine Council for English Language Arts. Teachers may be nominated by a supervisor or a teaching peer who can provide credible evidence of achievements, or be self-nominated. The nomination deadline is June 30.

For more details, go to


Nonprofits invited to apply for grants of up to $10,000

Grants of up to $10,000 from the Frances Hollis Brain Foundation Fund are available to support nonprofit organizations and projects that serve disadvantaged, underserved and/or vulnerable communities.

The donor-advised fund of the Maine Community Foundation makes grants to nonprofit organizations that have a statewide mission or focus on people who live in Greater Portland, Lewiston, Auburn, Bath, Brunswick, Biddeford, Saco or Sanford.

Grants are awarded for programs that focus on early childhood care and education, after-school and summer learning programs, community clinics and safety net providers, oral health initiatives, hunger prevention and food security, homelessness alleviation, and legal services connected with these areas.

In 2017, the fund awarded 28 grants that totaled $177,465. They included:

Community Dental, for the Access Program in Portland to reduce oral health care fees for low-income patients.

Maine Medical Center, to support the Learning Collaborative, a partnership of clinical learners working to address health care for homeless people in Portland.

Seeds of Hope, to support the Biddeford community by meeting immediate needs for food, clothing, job support and companionship.

YMCA of Southern Maine, to support the Early Learning Readiness Program that provides access to early education for young children and their caregivers.

The deadline for applications is April 9. For more information and to apply online, visit

Legal aid program receives two-year, $20,000 grant

Pine Tree Legal Assistance has been awarded a two-year grant from United Way of York County totaling $20,000.

This investment will help prevent homelessness and increase financial stability for families with low incomes in York County.


Cary Library renovation boosted by $3,000 donation

Katahdin Trust Co. presented a $3,000 donation to Cary Library recently to be used toward the library’s external renovation project taking place this summer and including the replacement of windows and stone facing on the north wall.


Bank presents $5,000 check to therapeutic equine center

Norway Savings Bank presented a $5,000 check to support Riding To The Top Therapeutic Riding Center.

The center provides therapeutic mounted, unmounted and carriage driving lessons to hundreds of Mainers with disabilities each year.

Norway Savings Bank has been a sponsor of Riding To The Top for 16 years. This year, in honor of RTT’s 25th year of service, the bank pledged an additional amount of $2,500 for a total of $7,500 in 2018.


Forty students inducted into technical honor society

Biddeford Regional Center of Technology has inducted 40 students into the National Technical Honor Society.

The NTHS honors the achievements of top career and technical education students from Biddeford, Old Orchard Beach, Dayton, and Saco; provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education; and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce.

Students must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average; current enrollment in a career and technical education program; a teacher recommendation; good attendance and discipline records; and involvement in extracurricular activities; and submit an essay on character;

The inductees include seniors Scott Berry, Nicholas Desjardins, Aaron Dutremble, Sarrah Marcotte, Gino Mucci, Kevin Nahimana, Ernest Nijimbere, Julia Pearl, Curtis Petit and Nick Plante, all of Biddeford High School; Samantha Byram, Kaitlyn Cote and Maegan Halle, all of Old Orchard Beach High School; and Elizabeth Bell, Louisa Colucci, Haley Hodgdon, Annie Karim, Sally Lehigh, Hannah McAlary, Bailey Miller, Abigail Morrill, Carl Pellerin, Ethan Richards, Brooklynn Soucier and Hailey Woodman, all of Thornton Academy.

Inducted juniors include Basam Abdulhay, Grace Boisvert Carter Edgerton, Madelyn Farley, Brittany Harlow, Alexis Matteau, Karla Mendoza, Samantha Mucci, Leslie Joy Nyambo and Jared Pierce, all of Biddeford High School; Meghan Pelletier of Old Orchard Beach High School; and Victoria Dukes, Kylie Lavallee, Morgan Neely and Caroline Riley, all of Thornton Academy.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.