FALMOUTH — There are three seats open on the Town Council this spring and all three are being contested.

A question that would overturn a series of growth districts created in the summer of 2016 will also be on the ballot.

The petition for that action will be the subject of a special Town Council meeting at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 18. There will likely be no public comment and no council action is anticipated, according to a notice Tuesday afternoon from Town Hall.

Nomination papers were due back in the town clerk’s office by the end of the day Tuesday. By noon, several candidates had already qualified to run.

There are two, three-year seats, and so far the candidates are Amy Kuhn, James Chaousis, who is the former town manager in Rockland, and Hope Cahan. Councilor Ned Kitchel, the only incumbent not prevented by term limits from seeking re-election, had also taken out papers but not returned them by early Tuesday.

Others who took out papers for the available three-year seats are Ruth Marlin and Stan Given.

The candidates for a two-year term, recently vacated by Andy Jones, are John Lane and Ted Asherman. Asherman serves on the board of the Falmouth Land Trust. Given also took out papers for this seat, as did Tim Nolan and Tyler Brinkman.

There are two seats available on the School Board and only two candidates took out papers and have returned them. They are Whitney Bruce, president of the Falmouth Education Foundation, and Nicole Bezanson.

There are also two other referendum questions on the June 12 municipal ballot. Those are the annual school budget validation and whether to create a new Charter Commission.

Along with the referendum on the Charter Commission, candidates could also take out papers for the six open seats on that board. Outgoing Town Councilor Karen Farber, David Goldberg, Dave McConnell and Richard Olson have all returned papers.

Others who took out papers to serve on the Charter Commission, but had not returned them yet were Bill Lunt and Rachel Reed.

Kate Irish Collins can be reached at 710-2336 or [email protected] Follow Kate on Twitter: @KIrishCollins.

Falmouth Town Hall

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.