FREEPORT — Voters on Nov. 6 will decide contested races for seats on the Town Council and Regional School Unit 5 Board Directors.

Town Council District 4 and at-large seats are on the ballot, along with three seats on the RSU 5 Board of Directors – two for two-year terms and a one-year seat. There are also three open seats on the Sewer District Board of Trustees and one on the Water District Board of Trustees.

The deadline for candidates to file nomination papers was Sept 12.

Henry Lawrence, of Hunter Road, was the only person to return nomination papers for the District 4 seat, being vacated by Councilor Leland Arris.

Arris is instead seeking the at-large seat being vacated by Councilor Melanie Sachs, and will be opposed by Tawni Whitney, of Baldwin Road.

Both council seats are for three-year terms.

On the School Board, terms are expiring for Jeremy Clough and John Morang. Both are running uncontested for re-election to three-year terms.

There will also be a one-year opening on the board, which attracted three candidates: Christopher Grimm of Fiddlehead Lane, Tiffany Jones of 35 Justins Way, and Maura Pillsbury of Todd Brook Road.

The vacancy was created by the resignation effective Nov. 7 of Sarah Woodard.

Jones ran for a three-year seat on RSU5’s board last year, but was defeated by Maddy Vertenten and Lindsay Sterling.

Mike Ashby, of South Street, Adam Morse, of Litchfield Road, and Sara Randall, of Starboard Lane are running uncontested for three seats on the Sewer District. Clifford Anderson, of Prout Road, is the only candidate on the ballot for a seat on the Water District.

Polls will be open 7 a.m.-8 p.m. Nov. 6 at the Freeport High School gymnasium.

Jocelyn Van Saun can be reached at 781-3661, ext. 183 or [email protected]. Follow her on Twitter @JocelynVanSaun.