AUGUSTA — Maine’s minimum wage will increase to $11 an hour in the new year, thanks to a law approved by voters in 2016.

Maine’s hourly wage will increase again at the start of 2020, to $12. Then, the wage will increase according to a formula tied to the cost of living. The minimum wage is now $10 an hour.

Some lawmakers last year unsuccessfully proposed to lower future minimum-wage increases.

The voter-approved law originally required tipped employees like waiters and waitresses to make minimum wage regardless of how much they made in tips. Lawmakers later changed the law to only require employers to make up the difference when tips don’t exceed the minimum wage.

Tipped employees will see their wages increase from $5 to $5.50 per hour on Jan. 1.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: