Sophia Pompeo helped Cheverus’ girls’ hockey team win the state title and she was named to the All-State team for her efforts.

Deering’s Grace Tumavicus helped the Deering/Portland/Cheverus co-op girls’ Nordic ski team win its first Class A championship and she also qualified for the Eastern High School championship race.

The winter sports season is in the rear-view mirror, but several city athletes made their mark throughout and were named to postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a recap:

Boys’ hockey

Several boys’ hockey players from the city of Portland were named to the Class A All-State team. That list included Portland/Deering forward Jake Luce, Portland/Deering defenseman Donato Tocci and Waynflete forward Mitchell Adams, who played for the South Portland/Freeport/Waynflete co-op team. 

Cheverus forward Colby Anton and Portland/Deering defenseman Max Cheever made the All-State second-team. 

Cheverus’ Anton and Alex Brewer, Portland/Deering’s Luce, Walter Lewandowski and Ben McCallum and Waynflete’s Adams represented the South team in the Class A Senior All-Star Game.

Portland/Deering’s Tocci and Waynflete’s Adams were semifinalists for the Travis Roy Award, given to the top senior player in Class A. Tocci was then named a finalist, but the award was given to Noah Austin of the Mt. Ararat/Morse/Lisbon/Hyde co-op squad.

Girls’ hockey

On the girls’ side, state champion Cheverus placed three players on the all-state team. That list included forwards Abby Lamontagne and Sophia Pompeo and defender Zoe Mazur. That squad also featured Portland/Deering’s Emily Demers.

The South Region All-Conference team included Cheverus forward Hannah Woodford, defender Sarah Noyes and goalie Trinity Atwater and Portland/Deering forwards Inez Braceras and Caroline Lerch and defender Elena Clifford.

Cheverus’ Zoe Mazur and Portland/Deering’s Emily Demers were finalists for the Becky Schaffer Award, given to the state’s top senior player (it was won by St. Dom’s’ Avery Lutrzykowski). 

Indoor track

The Southwestern Maine Activities Association girls’ indoor track all-conference first-team included Victoria Bossong of repeat Class A state champion Cheverus, who qualified in the junior 55, junior 200 and junior 400. Teammate Emma Galalnt qualified in the senior 55, senior 200 and senior 400. Bossong and Gallant, along with Julia Ryan and Emma White, made up a 4×200 relay team which qualified as well. They were joined by Portland’s Vanessa Connolly (junior shot put).

The girls’ second-team included Cheverus’ Sophie Schuele (junior triple jump) and White (senior triple jump) and Portland’s Jaidyn Appel (senior high jump). 

Cheverus’ White (senior long jump and senior hurdles) and Deering’s Darcy Lally (pole vault) qualified for the third-team.

Cheverus’ Mary-Kate Early, Evelyn Hanley and Emma White, Deering’s Ellie Bates, Madison Broda, Kimberly Cough, Haley Foreman, Nicole Johnson and Donna Thach and Portland’s Jaidyn Appel, Karina Boothe, Daisy Furber, Isabel Hungerford and Elisa Membrino all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

The all-state first-team included Cheverus’ Bossong, Gallant and White and Portland’s Appel.

The SMAA boys’ first-team included Cheverus’ Frank Morang (junior long jump), Deering’s Ben Vachon (junior triple jump) and Portland’s junior relay squad (Nate Fogg, Milo Bloom, Basilio Mangombo and Jack Mahoney).

Cheverus’ Sean Tompkins (senior 200) and Portland’s Bloom (junior hurdles) and Mahoney (junior long jump) qualified for the second-team.

The third-team featured Cheverus’ Morang (junior 55), Tompkins (senior 55) and Giovani Fornaro (senior shot put), Deering’s Alec Troxell (mile and two-mile) and Portland’s Fogg (junior long jump) and Mahoney (junior hurdles). 

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheerus’ Alex Baur and Nolan Doherty, Deering’s Lucas Jasonides, Chris Kombo, Sam Samacha, Hasma Shueib and Alec Troxell and Portland’s Joe Harrington, Ben Levine and Suhail Majid.

The boys’ all-state first-team included Deering’s Troxell. 

Cheverus’ Tompkins made the all-state second-team.


Cheverus’ perennial Class A state champion boys’ swim team placed several athletes on the Southwestern all-star team.

Quinton Hastings (50 freestyle, 100 free, 200 free relay and 200 medley relay), John Hight (100 breaststroke), Jack Martin (200 individual medley and 100 backstroke), Brim Peabody (500 free, 200 IM and 400 free relay) and Phineas Underwood (50 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay) all qualified, as did Deering’s Owen McLaughlin (100 free, 200 free, medley relay and 400 free relay) and Portland’s Will Couture (100 backstroke, 100 butterfly, medley relay and 400 free relay) and Josh Ying (200 free relay).

The All-State team included Cheverus’ Hastings (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle, 200 medley relay, 200 free relay), Peabody (500 free) and Underwood (200 free relay), Deering’s McLaughlin (200 freestyle, 200 IM, 200 medley relay and 400 free relay) and Portland’s Couture (100 butterfly, 100 backstroke and 200 medley relay).

The girls’ Southwestern all-star team included Cheverus’ Caroline Arpin (200 IM and 100 butterfly).


Cheverus’ Annesley Black, a multiple state champion this winter, made the SMAA Alpine ski girls’ all-star team. She also qualified for the All-Academic team and was joined on that squad by teammate Jennifer Christensen.

Deering’s Bennett Berg made the SMAA boys’ all-star team.

On the Nordic side of things, the WMC boys’ all-star team included Waynflete’s Nicholas Werner.

The following skiers from the Class A champion Portland/Deering/Cheverus co-op team qualified for the U16 team: Sierra Aponte Clarke, Ally Butts, Meribel Collin, Megan Cunningham, Ben Horrisberger and Leska Whitmarsh.

The following skiers made the Eastern High School championships squad: Aponte Clarke, Cunningham, Horrisberger, Will Jordan, Lucy Medd, Liam Niles, Robby Sheils and Grace Tumavicus.


The SMAA wrestling all-star first-team included Cheverus’ Teigan Lindstedt (182 pounds) and Portland’s Zack Elowitch (160) and Malcolm Garland (195).

Cheverus’ Sean Sullivan (220) and Portland’s Harold Dagenhardt (285) made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Ryan Breece and George Mitchell and Portland’s Elowitch qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.


Deering’s Kassidy Plummer and Portland’s Maddison Maggs made the SMAA cheering first-team.

Deering’s Bela Cardona and Lauren Tosi and Portland’s Cassidy Hunt and Julia Phan were honorable mention selections.

Deering’s Amy Lam and Marina Rivera qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.