Boys’ team:

JOE ROBINSON-South Portland hockey

The South Portland/Freeport/Waynflete co-op boys’ hockey team just got better as the season went along, won some memorable games and made it all the way to the Class A South semifinals before its ride came to a close.

And longtime coach Joe Robinson was a big reason why the Red Riots enjoyed so much success. In addition to eclipsing the 100-victory mark for his career earlier this season, he’s also being honored for the third time (2010, 2014) as The Forecaster’s Southern edition Winter Coach of the Year, of a boys’ team.

Robinson graduated from South Portland High School in 1994 after being a hockey and baseball standout. He went on to Bridgton Academy and the University of Southern Maine. He assisted a state champion Cape Elizabeth boys’ hockey program before taking over the Red Riots in 2007. Despite annually battling low numbers, Robinson has always kept South Portland in contention and this year was something special.

Highlights included a first-ever win over two-time defending Class A champion Lewiston and a dramatic playoff win over Cheverus. While the Red Riots fell just short against eventual regional champion Biddeford in the semifinals, it was a memorable ride.

“Early in the year, it was looking pretty grim, but we battled back and put together some big wins,” said Robinson, who teaches social studies at Massabesic High School. “I’m very proud.”

Joe Robinson, our Southern edition boys’ team Winter Coach of the Year, has demonstrated he can lead his team to great things year after year and the Red Riots figure to be in the playoff hunt as long as he’s with the team.

Previous winners:

2017-18 Phil Conley (Scarborough basketball)

2016-17 Jim Ray (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2015-16 Derek Veilleux (Scarborough track)

2014-15 Norm Gagne (Scarborough hockey)

2013-14 Joe Robinson (South Portland hockey)

2012-13 Phil Conley (South Portland basketball)

2011-12 Derek Veilleux (Scarborough track)

2010-11 Jim Ray (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2009-10 Joe Robinson (South Portland hockey)

2008-09 Derek Veilleux (Scarborough track)

2007-08 Phil Conley (South Portland basketball).

2006-07 Tony DiBiase (South Portland basketball)

2005-06 Jay Mazur (Scarborough hockey)

2004-05 Jason Tremblay (Cape Elizabeth hockey)

2003-04 Jim Ray (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2002-03 Matt Townsend (Scarborough basketball)

2001-02 Paul Brogan (South Portland indoor track)

Girls’ team:

MIKE GIORDANO-Scarborough basketball

As it turned out, Scarborough’s girls’ basketball team wasn’t the third-best team in a talented, top-heavy Class AA South. When all was said and done, the Red Storm were the best, as they made a run to the state final. A run which came as a surprise to many.

Scarborough peaked at the right time, was at its best against top competition and got key contributions from numerous sources, all good reasons for The Forecaster to again name Mike Giordano as our Southern edition Winter Coach of the Year of a girls’ team.

Giordano was also honored in 2004 and last year.

After spending 17 years as the South Portland girls’ coach, Giordano came to Scarborough in 2013 and the Red Storm have been competitive ever since.

After reaching the regional final last winter, Scarborough was expected to again take a backseat to three-time defending regional champion Gorham as well as projected powerhouse South Portland, but the Red Storm beat the Rams twice in a regular season which ended 16-2, with the only losses coming to the Red Riots and Portland.

Scarborough then put it all together in the playoffs, downing Massabesic in the quarterfinals, sweeping Gorham in the semifinals, then upsetting South Portland in the regional final. An early deficit spelled doom in the state game, a loss to Oxford Hills, but the season was a roaring success.

“It was a tremendous run,” said Giordano. “Those kids gave me everything they had every day.”

The Red Storm should be right back in the title hunt next season and this time, might just finish the job. With Mike Giordano, our Southern edition girls’ team Coach of the Year, leading the program, big things are always possible.

Previous winners:

2017-18 Mike Giordano (Scarborough basketball)

2016-17 Ben Raymond (Cape Elizabeth swimming)

2015-16 Lynne Hasson (South Portland basketball)

2014-15 Chris Casterella (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2013-14 Caitlin Cashman (Scarborough hockey)

2012-13 Chris Casterella (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2011-12 Tom Maines (Scarborough basketball)

2010-11 Chris Roberts (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2009-10 Jim Seavey (Scarborough basketball)

2008-09 Chris Roberts (Cape Elizabeth basketball)

2007-08 Bre Fortiguerra (Scarborough hockey)

2006-07 Ron Kelly (Scarborough track)

2005-06 Deven Morrill (Cape Elizabeth Nordic skiing)

2004-05 Ron Kelly (Scarborough track)

2003-04 Mike Giordano (South Portland basketball)

2002-03 Kerry Kertes (Cape Elizabeth swimming)

2001-02 Tim Kipp (Scarborough swimming)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter:@foresports.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.