TIERNAN LATHROP, Senior – Lacrosse

File photos

• All-American
• WMC Class A/B all-star, first-team
• Captain

Tiernan Lathrop

Lathrop put on a clinic on how to get to the goal and finish and his ability to rise to the occasion in the biggest moments helped the Capers repeat as Class A state champions.

While Lathrop used his size and strength as calling cards, he also knew the game well and was unselfish to boot and the opposition simply couldn’t keep up.

Lathrop, who also competed in soccer and Alpine skiing in high school, followed in his older brothers’ Devon and Killian’s shoes and made an immediate impact as a freshman, but it wasn’t his brothers who were his original source of inspiration.

“I grew up watching the Thorecks (Griffin, Connor and Owen) play,” Lathrop said. “They were dominating and they were the reason I fell in love with lacrosse.”

After missing out on his sophomore campaign due to COVID, Lathrop, now joined by younger brother Keegan, played an integral role on a powerhouse Capers team in 2021, which went undefeated and crushed just about every foe en route to their first-ever Class A crown. Lathrop scored 53 goals and added 20 assists.


He was even better this spring, scoring 57 goals, adding 25 assists, 54 ground balls and 18 caused turnovers.

Highlights included three goals apiece in season-opening victories over Kennebunk and Gorham, six goals in a win at Scarborough, three goals in a victory over Lewiston and career-high (and possible program-high) nine goals in a win over South Portland.

In Cape Elizabeth’s playoff run, Lathrop had four assists in a semifinal round victory over Scarborough, three goals in a regional final win over Thornton Academy; then he bowed out with four goals, two assists and a couple faceoff wins for good measure in the Capers’ Class A state game victory over Falmouth.

“It feels great,” Lathrop said. “This is exactly what we came for.”

Lathrop will play next year at Bryant University in Smithfield, Rhode Island, where he’ll again join his brother Killian on the same team.

Players like Tiernan Lathrop, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Athlete of the Year, don’t come around very often. When they do, all you can do is marvel at the show on display.


Coach Ben Raymond’s comment: “Tiernan is definitely one of our most athletic players, definitely our most athletic midfielder with a short stick that we’ve had in years. Skill-wise, he’s not just big and strong. He has a strong shot, he can shoot left or right equally well. He moves the ball well. He can play defense, too. He really is the full package. There’s so much he can do. He’s by far the biggest matchup problem for anyone. I think Tiernan has done a great job of continuing to improve his game. He made good decisions and passed the ball, but there were times when he got a head of steam in transition and no one was going to stop him.”

Previous winners:

• 2021 Archie McEvoy (lacrosse)
• 2020 No season
• 2019 Max Patterson (lacrosse)
• 2018 Brendan Tinsman (baseball)
• 2017 Connor Thoreck and Owen Thoreck (lacrosse)
• 2016 R.J. Sarka (lacrosse)
• 2015 Griffin Thoreck (lacrosse)
• 2014 Tom Feenstra (lacrosse)
• 2013 Adam Haversat (lacrosse)
• 2012 Will LeBlond (baseball)
• 2011 Cam Brown (baseball)
• 2010 Ben Brewster (lacrosse)
• 2009 Andrew Guay (baseball)
• 2008 Zach Belden (lacrosse)
• 2007 Pat Murphy (baseball)
• 2006 Evan Bagley (lacrosse)
• 2005 Brett Brown (lacrosse)
• 2004 Garret Currier (tennis)
• 2003 Alex Weaver (lacrosse)
• 2002 Mike DiFusco (lacrosse)

TORI HEWS, Senior – Track

• Class B state champion, 100
• Class B state champion, 200
• WMC all-star, first-team, 100
• WMC all-star, first-team, 200

Tori Hews

Hews proved to be a sprinter without peer and her performance at the Class B state meet was a perfect punctuation mark to a memorable high school career.

Hews’ first outdoor season came in her junior year and she made an immediate splash by placing second in the 100, third in the 200 and being part of a champion 4×100 relay team at the Class B state meet. This winter, indoors, Hews won the 55 and 200 at the Western Maine Conference meet, but didn’t compete at states.


This spring, despite not being 100% physically, she took the next step and became an individual champion.

Hews was at her best in the postseason, repeating as the conference champion in the 100, 200 and 4×100 relay.

At the Class B state meet, Hews was able to hold off Gardiner’s Alayna Blier to win both the 100 (12.72 seconds) and the 200 (26.53). She also ran the anchor leg on a champion 4×100 relay team (50.93) and a runner-up 4×400 relay squad (4 minutes, 14.97 seconds).

“Winning the 100 and the 200 at states, as well as anchoring the winning 4×100 relay team, was certainly a high point in her season, but I think being part of the 4×400 relay team is where she really showed her mettle,” said Cape Elizabeth coach Doug Worthley.

At New Englands, Hews was 20th in the 100 (13.07) and also competed in the 4×100 and 4×400 relays.

Hews plans to compete in track at Wheaton College in Norton, Massachusetts, next year.


Tori Hews, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Athlete of the Year, made a huge impact in a short time on the Capers outdoor track program and was a champion in every sense of the word.

Coach Doug Worthley’s comment: “Tori is an awesome young lady. She is a hard kid not to like. She is always willing to do what needs to be done to help the team and buys into the program. She showed how much of a leader and team player she is and was committed to the team’s success. While struggling with shin splints most of the season, she always seemed to rally and get the job done. She will be a huge asset to Wheaton’s track team and will be sorely missed.”

Previous winners:

• 2021 Anna Cornell (softball)
• 2020 No season
• 2019 Karli Chapin (lacrosse)
• 2018 Darcy Cochran (track)
• 2017 Jessie Robicheaw (softball)
• 2016 Liv Clifford (tennis)
• 2015 Kate Bosworth (lacrosse)
• 2014 Abby McInerney (lacrosse)
• 2013 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)
• 2012 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)
• 2011 Elin Sonesson (lacrosse)
• 2010 Gabe Donahue (softball)
• 2009 Colleen Martin (softball)
• 2008 Trish Thibodeau (softball)
• 2007 Maureen Kertes (softball)
• 2006 Clare Egan (track)
• 2005 Elise Moody-Roberts (track)
• 2004 Dana Riker (track)
• 2003 Leslie Harrison (track)
• 2002 Anna Lombard (lacrosse)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Comments are not available on this story.