Freeport’s boys’ cross country team capped another triumphant season at Saturday’s state meet at Twin Brook Recreation Center in Cumberland.

Plenty of other local runners turned heads as well.

Falcons soar once more

Freeport’s Will Spaulding (front) and Teo Styverlink-Horne, along with Greely’s Hayden MacAuthur (345) and William Coull (341) run in the Class B state meet last weekend. Horne was second individually, helping the Falcons to a repeat state title. John Jensenius / For The Forecaster

Freeport’s score of 35 points easily gave it the title over the Class B field (York was runner-up with 93 points). The Falcons repeated as champion and won Class B for the third time since 2014. Freeport featured Henry Horne, who completed the five-kilometer course in 17 minutes, 14.39 seconds, the fourth-best time, but good for second for scoring purposes.

Horne said he was making an attempt at the course record of 15:43 – nearly a minute faster than his winning time the previous week – in part because he was confident Freeport had the depth to win the team title.

“You’ve got to put yourself out there sometimes,” Horne said. “I don’t know if it was worth it.”


Will Spaulding was next, placing third in 17:28.3. Also scoring were Teo Styverlink-Horne (ninth, 17:47.26), Alex Gilbert (10th, 17:52.6) and Connor Smith (11th, 17:55.59).

“The boys  all had an incredible season culminating with the state championship,” said Freeport coach Matt Greear. “Scoring 35 points is a feat that will be hard to repeat.”

The Falcons will be heard from again in 2023.

“Obviously, Henry Horne is graduating, but we are also losing senior leadership with Al Dawson, Jack DiRusso and Ian Moore, who all contributed to last year’s state championship team as well,” Greear said. “I’m excited though because we are returning four of our top five finishers. Will, Teo, Alex and Connor will all be returning and looking to compete and improve. I’m sure we will have other strong additions to our team as well.”

Freeport qualified to take part in the New England championships Nov. 12 in Rhode Island.

Greely (142 points) came in third. The Rangers were led by Hayden MacArthur, who was 13th (18:08.46). Also scoring were Tait Harvey (15th, 18:12.05), Seamus Raftice (23rd, 18:26.66), William Coull (45th, 19:26.06) and Zachary Vanni (46th, 19:28.45).


Yarmouth didn’t qualify as a team, but a pair of individuals took part. Cam Pernal had the 26th-best time (18:13.55) and Stuart Baybutt produced the 42nd-best time (18:45.42).

In the Class B girls’ meet, won by York with 63 points, Freeport (107) came in fourth. The Falcons were paced by freshman Lucy Huggett (13th, 21:27.0). Also scoring were Lilah Hall (20th, 22:07.18), Caroline Carter (21st, 22:12.23), Laurel Wight (26th, 22:29.71) and Ellie Battarbee (27th, 22:40.07).

“The girls’ team had a great meet on Saturday,” said Greear. “We have a strong core group returning with Caroline Carter, Josie Spaulding, Lucy Huggett, Lilah Hall and Laurel Wight and will be looking to contend for a state title next year.”

Greely (114 points) placed fifth. The fastest Ranger was Annie Reynolds (ninth, 21:01.06). Also scoring were Rowan Barry (12th, 21:26.13), Charlotte Taylor (16th, 21:38.95), Sylvia Harvey (38th, 23:23.73) and Fiona MacArthur (39th, 23:25.82).

Yarmouth (230 points) finished ninth. The Clippers featured Norah Mills (43rd, 23:34.73), Katie Thornton (44th, 23:41.92), Lauren Keaney (45th, 23:49.57) and Josephine Nicholas (46th, 23:52.43. Also scoring was Maya Faulstitch (52nd, 24:22.4).

In the Class C girls’ race, won by Orono with 29 points, Maine Coast Waldorf tallied 171 points and placed sixth. MCW was led by freshman Rahel Delaney, who was sixth in 20:47.26 and qualified for New Englands as an individual. Also scoring were Maren Burglund (33rd, 25:13.44), Ella von Bremen (41st, 26:17.51), Murreal Wilmot (42nd, 26:18.48) and Lydia Sharp (49th, 28:06.73).


North Yarmouth Academy didn’t qualify as a team, but Hadley Smith had the 14th-fastest time (22:02.91) and Cass MacCarthy posted the 32nd-fastest mark (23:24.05).

The Class C boys’ title was won by George Stevens Academy with 81 points. MCW (218) was 10th. Nate Barmby (27th, 19:40.46) led the way. Also scoring were Soren Stark-Chessa (32nd, 19:54.57), Noah Corcoran (36th, 20:19.53), Enno Widulle (52nd, 21:41.5) and Gus Anderson (71st, 23:03.66).

NYA’s Chris Noreika took part as an individual and finished with the 55th-best time (20:14.49).

Falmouth’s Maeve Ginevan, left, and Hannah Martin take part in the Class A girls’ race. John Jensenius / For The Forecaster

In Class A, Falmouth’s girls had 104 points and came in third behind Bonny Eagle (32) and Marshwood (80). The Navigators featured Maeve Ginevan (16th, 21:27.86). Also scoring were Teagan Barry (18th, 21:38.12), Hannah Martin (19th, 21:39.32), Fiona Hanrahan (21st, 21:47.11) and Sydney Young (30th, 22:10.87).

Falmouth qualified for New Englands.

In the Class A boys’ race, won by Hampden Academy with 52 points, Falmouth (360) came in 15th. The Navigators were led by Isaac Seeker (42nd, 18:37.87). Also scoring were Christopher Jaynes (62nd, 19:12.2), Daniel Kim (76th, 19:43.5), Connor Lund (86th, 20:02.36) and Sean Lowery (94th, 20:24.19).

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports

Comments are not available on this story.