Dana Deering, left, is sworn in as town meeting moderator and election warden by Town Clerk John Myers. Robert Lowell / American Journal

The $62.1 million SAD 6 school budget passed Tuesday in Buxton, 442 to 315, and was unofficially approved districtwide 2,154 to 1,099 with Frye Island unreported.

Cynthia Meserve of Buxton handily defeated Paul Leach 1,931 to 1,060 – 454 to 268 in Buxton – for an at-large seat on the School Board.

Besides Buxton and Frye Island, the Bonny Eagle district includes Hollis, Limington and Standish.

Also on Tuesday, Roger Tracy upset incumbent Scott Warchol 347 to 303 for a three-year term on the Buxton Planning Board.

Town Clerk John Myers reported 768 total ballots cast, representing a 11.3% voter turnout of 6,793 registered voters.

In uncontested municipal races, Myers was reelected as town clerk; David Field and Francis Pulsoni to the the Buxton Select Board; Richard Fitzgerald and Richard Emery to three-year terms on the
Budget Committee; and Luke Plummer to a two-year Budget Committee seat.

Dana Deering, a former member of the Select Board, was sworn in at 5:30 a.m. Tuesday as town meeting moderator and election warden. He follows in the footsteps of previous moderators Hiram Davis and Sharleen Bernard.

Residents will vote on the municipal budget at a Town Meeting at 9 a.m. Saturday, June 17, at Buxton Town Hall, 185 Portland Road. Officials did not respond to requests for a total budget figure before the American Journal’s deadline Wednesday.

Comments are not available on this story.