South Portland voters will decide two contested City Council races and choose new members of the school board on Nov. 7.

Mayor Kate Lewis is not running for reelection to the City Council. The two-time mayor said she has “devoted much energy to the city of South Portland” during her six years on the council.

“In that time, my professional and personal commitments have expanded significantly, and it’s time for me to devote all of my energy to those aspects of my life,” she wrote in a statement to The Forecaster. “I look forward to watching the next group of councilors bring energy, integrity and all of their best thinking to the very important issues of the day in South Portland.”

Rachel Coleman and Jeffrey McDonald are vying for Lewis’ District 2 seat.

South Portland District 4 City Councilor Linda Cohen is stepping down a year before her term ends because she is moving out of the district and will run in District 1. Steven Riley is running unopposed to serve the remainder of the unexpired District 4 term.

Cohen faces Brendan Williams in the race for the District 1 seat currently held by first-term Councilor Jocelyn Leighton, who is not seeking reelection.


Elyse Tipton resigned from the South Portland Board of Education to run for the District 5 City Council seat now held by Councilor Deqa Dhalac, who also is the District 120 representative in the Legislature. Dhalac is not seeking reelection, and Tipton is unopposed for that seat.

For school board, Jennifer Kinney is running unopposed for the remaining year of Tipton’s term representing District 5.

Incumbent Rosemarie DeAngelis, who was appointed to the District 3 seat for one year by the City Council in December, is running for reelection for the remaining year of that term. Melinda Aloes is also running for that one-year seat.

Board of Education members Claire Holman and Jennifer Ryan will defend their at-large Board of Education seats against sole challenger Eleni Richardson.

Comments are not available on this story.