The South Portland High football program, one of the most storied in the state, will induct its inaugural Hall of Fame class, featuring 10 players and two coaches, Friday, Nov. 24 at 6 p.m., at the Sheraton Sable Oaks ballroom in South Portland.

The first class features halfback William Curran (Class of 1931), end Harold “Ed” Woodsum Junior (1949), running back Richard “Dick” Daniels (1953), lineman Robert Hews (1966), lineman Ed McAleney (1971), running back Dan Federico (1982), lineman Michael Soucy (1990), running back Bert Rich (1993), running back Tim Lawson (1997) and linebacker Rob Kierstead (1998).

“We have been working for a couple of years to establish the South Portland Football Hall of Fame,” said Aaron Filieo, South Portland class of 1993, who is the current football team’s head coach. “The selection committee is a very dedicated group of alums who reflect the passion for and commitment to the football program. Its past success, the program’s current reputation and its vision for the future.”

Curran was the only three-time All-Conference player of his era, went on to letter at Fordham University, later coached at South Portland for seven seasons and led an undefeated state championship team in 1938. Curran is a member of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

Woodsum was a two-time All-State selection, was named a high school All-American, lettered for three seasons at Yale University and was drafted by the Chicago Cardinals of the National Football League in 1954. Woodsum is a member of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

Daniels was twice named All-State, was a high school All-American and lettered for three years at Wake Forest University. Daniels is a member of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.


Hews was a two-time All-State selection in high school who went on to letter for three years at Princeton University, be named to the Ivy League All-Conference team in 1969 and be drafted by the Kansas City Chiefs before playing one season with the Buffalo Bills. Hews is a member of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

McAleney was twice named All-State, was an honorable mention All-American, then became a collegiate All-American at the University of Massachusetts before spending seven years in the Canadian Football League as well as playing for a year with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. McAleney is a member of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame, has been named to the U. Mass Hall of Fame and was chosen a member of the 50th anniversary All-Yankee Conference team.

Federico was a two-time All-State selection, won the Fitzpatrick Trophy in 1981, lettered for three years at the University of New Hampshire and was a second-team All-Yankee Conference selection in 1985.

Soucy was twice named All-State, set a record for sacks at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, was a two-time Division III college All-American and is a member of the RPI Hall of Fame.

Bert Rich was simply unstoppable in 1992, running over tacklers and leading South Portland to the Class A state title. File photo. 


Rich won the Fitzpatrick Trophy and Gatorade Player of the Year awards in 1992 after leading the Red Riots to an elusive Class A state championship. He remains the only player in program history to rush for over 2,000 yards in a single season and holds the single season record for rushing touchdowns with 31. Rich went on to letter at the University of Maine.


Lawson twice was named Maine’s Gatorade Player of the Year, was twice named All-State and was twice a Fitzpatrick Trophy finalist. He won two state titles at South Portland and rushed for 3,600 yards and 55 touchdowns. He played at Bowdoin College.

Kierstead twice won state titles, twice was named All-State, was a Fitzpatrick Trophy finalist, played an integral role on teams that set a then-record for consecutive Class A victories with 31 and was a Maine Shrine Lobster Bowl captain. Kierstead went on to start at linebacker at the University of Maine and was part of a two-time Atlantic 10 champion. He won the Woody Carville Senior Achievement award in 2002.

Also to be inducted will be legendary coaches Jack Flynn (1966-1984) and John Wolfgram (1986-2000).

Jack Flynn paced the South Portland sidelines for a quarter century and won a lot of games in the process. Contributed photo.

Flynn not only spent 19 years as Red Riots head coach, he was also an assistant for six. He led the program to nine conference championships and has been named to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame coach John Wolfgram celebrated a lot of big victories during his time in South Portland. File photo.

Wolfgram is arguably the most accomplished coach in Maine high school football history. During his 15 seasons with the Red Riots, he led the program to four Class A state titles and nine regional final appearances. Wolfgram has been named to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

Tickets for the event are $60 per person.


Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: