Christopher Hill, U.S. ambassador to Iraq, has been chosen to lead the University of Denver’s Josef Korbel School of International Studies. He is a graduate of Bowdoin College with a bachelor’s degree in economics.

Catholic Charities has hired Leora Souliere as human resources administrator, Sarah Davis as refugee and immigration services time bank coordinator, and William Adkisson and Caroline Schnell as support and recovery services case managers.

Larry Henry has joined Martin’s Point Health Care as vice president of Medicare. He brings 12 years of health care experience in sales, marketing, operations and government programs to the position.

Stu Scheller is the new vice president of sales, marketing and business development for Martin’s Point Health Care. He brings more than 30 years experience in developing businesses, teams and individuals to the position.

Richard “Skip” White has joined Martin’s Point Health Care as general manager of employer and provider partnerships. He previously worked at Cigna Healthcare New England.

Emily Baron has joined Macdonald Page & Co. LLC as a staff accountant in the Augusta office. She has her bachelor of science degree in accounting and her master’s degree in business administration.


Kerri Craig of Turner has been promoted to business finance manager at the IRC Group. Craig has more than 20 years of experience in operational finance and office management, having started her career at the company in 1988.


Samantha Hillaire of Turner has been promoted to inside customer sales representative at the IRC Group. She began her career with the company’s roof management services in 2008.


Edith Dixon will be part of the dedication ceremony of the F. Eugene Dixon Jr. Emergency Center at Maine Coast Memorial Hospital in Ellsworth, including an unveiling of the granite sign in memory of her late husband and hospital benefactor, F. Eugene Dixon Jr. 

The Maine Medical Center Cancer Institute Breast Cancer Center has become the first such facility in the state to receive a full three-year accreditation from the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers, administered by the American College of Surgeons. 

Mainebiz received first- and third-place awards at the Alliance of Area Business Publications annual Editorial & Design Excellence Awards. First-place awards received were for best overall design in the small tabloid category and best explanatory journalism in the open category. Third place was for best special section design, also in the open category. 

Patricia Amidon of Portland was recognized as the Appraisal Institute’s July Volunteer of Distinction for Region IV. Amidon has been a member of the institute for nearly 25 years.


The Maine Automobile Dealers Association has elected new officers to its board of directors. Winfred Dodge of Bill Dodge Auto Group was elected chairman, and John Quirk of Quirk Auto Park was elected vice chairman. Other board members include Gene Brenner of Bessey Motor Sales; Wallace Camp Jr. of Rowe Ford-Hyundai; Jay Darling of Darling’s Auto Mall; Charles Gaunce of Central Maine Auto Group; Steven Hartley of Hartley’s; Neal Shepard of Shepard Nissan-Chrysler; and Gerard York of York’s.

National Worksite Benefit Group Inc. and Employee Benefit Management Inc. have announced a joint venture under which the two organizations will combine services to better serve existing clients of each firm, as well as providing service and professional consultation to new customers.

Ruth Summers is the incoming president of the Junior League of Portland. Other members of the board include Elliot Pitts, Jennifer Wanda, Kim Koehler, Charlotte Gregorie, Denise Morrison, Deirdre Banks, Lyn Weisz, Melissa Duffy, Terri Decoster-Grasso and Vicky Kennedy.

The Immigrant Legal Advocacy Project recently elected Mama Oye Anoff Ntow, Jennifer Archer, Catherin Buffum, Warren Evans, Peter Landis and Shafaat Qazi to the board of directors.

Julie Villemaire of Saco has been elected chair of the Biddeford-Saco Rotary Club board of directors. Other board members elected include Frank Dumais, president-elect; Karen Chasse, vice president; Steve Morin, past president; Dana Lane, treasurer; Dawn DeSimone, secretary; Lucie Dunigan, assistant secretary; and directors Phil Denison, Hydie Knuckles, Jim McAllister and Bernice Wood.