Maine high school semifinalists in the 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program: Willard Bollenbach and John Queeney, Cape Elizabeth High School; Charles Oddleifson, Morse High School; Dacie Manion, Old Town High School; and Andrew DiMarco and Natalie Salmon, Yarmouth High School.

National Spanish Exam: Nearly 50 students from Portland and Deering High Schools received awards in the Oro, Plata, Bronce and Honor categories.

Oro: Grace Kiffney, Deering High.

Plata: Margaret Adham and Debra Polanco, Portland High; Madeleine Oswald and Heidy Castaneda, Deering High.

Bronce: Alex Abreu, Victoria Clayton, Megan Anderson, Jeremy Ravenelle, Eleanor Altholz, Julie Orrego, Keishla Quiles and Alison Savage, all of Portland; Julia Kang, Deering.

Honor: Andrew Ahonen, Emily Burton, Jacob Fogel, Camille Hanley, Grace Hanley, Clare Kenney, Zora Kesich, Erin Mahoney, Colin Merrill, Bridget Ruff, Sarah Hesselink, Maria Reyes, Paley Burlin, Julia Conley, Kellianne Dolan, Keanan Fox, Isaac Jaegerman, Jacob Katsiaficas, Marc Korobkin, Barry Quinn, Katherine Suslovic, Casey Waldren, Charles Weber and Jeffrey Peisner, all of Portland; Ania Chandler, Thomas Dean, Kathleen Donlan, Samuel Goldberg, Michael Hebert, Jaqueline Huynh, Daniella Kahn, Veronica Mitchell, Logan Roche, Ariana Solodar-Wincele and Paulina Sottery, all of Deering.

National French Exam: Five students at Portland High School won awards for their scores. The following received the Laureat National et Medaille de Bronze for scoring in the top tenth percentile nationally, competing against other native French speakers: Ben Day (national rank 9; Maine rank 2); Yves Engelmann (national rank 10; Maine rank 1), and Mike Niryumwami (national rank 10; Maine rank 1).

Two students received Certificat d’Honneur awards for scoring in the top 20th percentile in the country, also competing against other native French speakers. They are Christabella Nakumuryango (Maine rank 3) and Mich? Runyambo (Maine rank 10).

National Latin Exam: Cape Elizabeth High School Latin students received the Gold summa cum laude medal: Matt Gilman, Caroline Gleason, Dorothy Janick, Timothy Stack, Lindsey Tanabe, Jane Vaughn, Addison Wood and Henry Gent. Honors awards were achieved by Cameron Caswell, Francesca Governali, Nolan Chase and Robert Freccero.

Lindsey Wollard, a junior at Deering High School, has been offered a merit scholarship to attend Bard College at Simon’s Rock in Great Barrington, Mass. The award allows Wollard to begin college after her junior year.

Charlotte Eisenberg, an eighth-grader at King Middle School in Portland, was recognized as the top middle-level youth volunteer in Maine for 2011. She received a Prudential Spirit of Community award for establishing an environmental club at her school.

Haley Shaw, a student at Brunswick High School, has been selected to receive the 2011 Principals’ Award given to a senior for academic achievement and citizenship.

2011 Maine Constitution Poster and Essay Contest: Brett Davisson, a 10th-grader from Wells High School, was the area winner for his essay “America: A Limitless Land of Freedom, Opportunity, and Patriotism.”

The contest is open to Maine students in grades K through 12 who may submit posters or essays reflecting Maine symbols or history, the Maine Constitution or voting and democracy. To learn more and view winning entries from this year’s contest, visit