November 5, 2013

Casavant easily wins re-election as Biddeford mayor

Incumbent Alan Casavant won all seven wards and earned about 57 percent of the total vote.

By Gillian Graham
Staff Writer

Biddeford Mayor Alan Casavant easily won a second term Tuesday, edging out two challengers who said he was leading the former mill town in the wrong direction.

Alan Casavant easily won Biddeford’s mayoral race.

click image to enlarge

Michael Swanton won the Ward 1 seat in the race for Biddeford city council.

Additional Photos Below

In the three-way race for mayor, incumbent Casavant was challenged by former two-term Mayor Joanne Twomey and Perry Aberle, who became the youngest city councilor in Biddeford history when he was elected at 18 in 1993.

Casavant won all seven wards and took 57 percent of the overall vote. About 30 percent of the city’s 13,753 registered voters cast ballots.

“I’m thrilled that the people of Biddeford have decided that the policies we’ve chosen in the last two years are the right ones,” he said. “They’re willing to accept the changes we’ve implemented to economically and culturally better the city.”

Casavant, who also is a state representative, unseated Twomey in 2011 by a nearly 2-1 margin.

“This (victory) was especially sweet because I’ve had a small group of detractors who have repeatedly said we’re going in the wrong direction,” Casavant said. “The voters are saying we’re going in the right direction and change is good.”

A total of 17 candidates ran for nine City Council seats.

In Ward 1, incumbent Michael Swanton won a second term with 430 votes. Challenger Ronald Peaker had 217 votes.

In Ward 2, former four-term City Councilor John McCurry was returned to the panel with 209 votes, ousting incumbent David Bourque, who had 150 votes. Political newcomer Andrew Russell received 35 votes.

Ward 3 Councilor Bradley Cote ran unopposed.

In a close race in Ward 4, political newcomer Robert Quattrone Jr. narrowly beat Dominic Deschambault, who ran for the first time. Quattrone had 275 votes to Deschambault’s 247.

In Ward 5, Councilor Bob Mills easily beat challenger Carol Boisjoly. Mills received 237 votes and Boisjoly had 189.

In Ward 6, Council President Rick Laverriere was ousted by the first challenger he faced since Laverriere was elected eight years ago. Former City Councilor Roger Hurtubise won with 331 votes to Laverriere’s 236 total.

Ward 7 Councilor Michael Ready ran unopposed.

In the race for two at-large seats, incumbents Roch Angers and Richard Rhames were ousted to make room for two former city councilors. Marc Lessard (1,408 votes) and Clement Fleurent (1,684 votes) will return to represent the entire city on the nine-member council.

Gillian Graham can be contacted at 791-6315 or at:ggraham@pressherald.comTwitter: @grahamgillian
Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Additional Photos

click image to enlarge

John McCurry won the Ward 2 seat for Biddeford city council.

click image to enlarge

Robert Quattrone Jr. won the Ward 4 seat for Biddeford city council.

click image to enlarge

Clement Fleurent won an at-large bid for Biddeford city council.

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)