November 18, 2013

Maine high school championship football schedule announced

Cheverus and Bonny Eagle will play the first game Saturday.

Staff Report

Cheverus High and Bonny Eagle High, two schools that have combined to win six of the last nine Class A state football titles, will open the state championship triple header Saturday at Portland’s Fitzpatrick Stadium.

The Stags (10-0) and Scots (9-1) will play at 11:06 Saturday in the Class A state championship game, the Maine Principals’ Association announced Monday.

The Class D game between Bucksport (10-0) and Oak Hill (9-2) will follow at 2:36 p.m. The Class C championship game between Winslow (9-1) and Leavitt (10-0) will begin at 6:06 p.m.

Kennebunk (11-0) and Cony (8-2) will play the Class B state championship game Friday at 7 p.m. at the University of Maine’s Alfond Stadium.

The Class A game features teams that have never lost in a Class A state championship game. Bonny Eagle is 4-0, with titles in 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2008. Cheverus, which has won 4 of its last 45 games, won championships in 1985, 2010 and 2011.

The Class B game features two teams that played in Class A a year ago. Cony, led by record-setting quarterback Ben Lucas (his 86 career touchdown passes is a state record), is playing in its first state championship game. Kennebunk last won a Class B state championship in 1991 (beating Old Town 13-12) and last won a regional title in 1999.

In Class C, Winslow is looking to win a championship for the first time since 2001, when the Raiders beat York 24-17 to complete back-to-back titles over the Wildcats. Winslow lost in last year’s Class C title game, 22-20 to Foxcroft Academy. Leavitt last won a championship in 2009 when the Hornets beat Cape Elizabeth 35-21 for the Class B crown. Leavitt also lost in the Class B title game in 2010 and 2011.

Class D is holding its first state championship game since 1986. The MPA reduced the number of classes to three in 1987, going back to four classes this fall.

Oak Hill won the Class D title in 1982, beating Foxcroft 28-6. In 1984, Oak Hill lost to Dexter 47-0 in the Class D title game. Bucksport last won a state championship in 2004, beating Jay 42-20 for the Class C title. The Golden Bucks lost to Yarmouth in the Class C title game in 2011.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)