May 16, 2013

A full slate of football honorees

Players, coaches and officials will be honored in an awards ceremony at Bowdoin on May 22.

From staff reports

BRUNSWICK - The State of Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will honor 17 high school football players, a prep school player and a college player with its scholar athlete awards at its annual banquet May 22 at Bowdoin College.

The Chapter will also present a Distinguished American Award, a Coach of the Year Award, a Contributor to American Football Award and a Football Official of the Year Award.

The Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame recognizes and supports amateur football in Maine. It honors high school, prep school and college players every May. The organization conducts a number of youth football clinics, hosts a kickoff luncheon in August, supports the Fitzpatrick Award and is involved in the Coach Mac Fund, named for Old Town native Dick McPherson -- a former UMass, Syracuse and Patriots head coach. The Mac Fund helps fund youth football programs, emerging Maine high school programs and offers free clinics for coaching education.

The high school scholar athletes to be honored are: Robert Begin, Thornton Academy; Ryan Brewer, Lisbon; Ryan Casale, Cheverus; Gregory Duff, Bangor; Donald Goodrich, Cheverus; Andrew Lachance, Maranacook; Nicholas Leblond, Biddeford; Andrew Martel, Bonny Eagle; Donald Martin Jr., Hermon; Riley Murphy, Bonny Eagle; Kurt Massey, John Bapst; Connor McCrum, Thornton Academy; James Purdy, Freeport; Dillon Russo, Scarborough; Alexander Shain, Sanford; Anthony Sementelli, Lawrence and Tyler Sturtevant, Poland.

Jarrod Casey of Bridgton Academy is the prep school scholar-athlete recipient and John Gilboy of Colby is the college honoree.

Robert Hewes of Portland will receive the Distinguished American Award. Hews played at South Portland High, Princeton University and the Kansas City Chiefs. John Morin, who recently stepped down as head coach at Massabesic High, will receive the Contribution to Amateur Football Award. Kevin Kezal of Thornton Academy, which won the Class A state championship in 2012, is the Coach of the Year. Vinnie DiPhilippo of Portland will receive the Football Official of the Year Award.

The banquet begins with a social at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30. For tickets to the banquet, call Howard Vandersea, secretary-treasurer of the chapter, at 729-4210.


Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)



More PPH Blogs

Winter sports 2013-2014

High School Football 2013

Fall sports photos