AUGUSTA – Gov. John Baldacci and First Lady Karen Baldacci will honor 13 nominees for 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year on Friday at the State House, the Maine Department of Education announced today.

Joining the Baldaccis will be 2010 Teacher of the Year Kevin Grover of Falmouth.

The 2011 nominees are: Alice Barr, Yarmouth High School; William Buzza, Leavitt Area High School, Turner; Jim Fratini, Hermon Middle School; Kate Gardoqui, Noble High School, North Berwick; Tracy Gendron-Turner, Montello Elementary School, Lewiston; Amy Hediger, Poland Community School; Nancy Kane, Sanford High School; Walter LeBlanc, Westbrook High School; Shelly Moody, Williams Elementary School, Oakland; Eddy Naples, Region 9 School of Applied Technology, Mexico; Cynthia Shepley, Abraham Lincoln School, Bangor; Sandra Swan, Woodland Consolidated School; and Jason Tremblay, Massabesic High School, Waterboro.

The nominees will undergo a selection process that includes a school visit, a professional portfolio review, an oral presentation and final interviews. The review panels include past Teachers of the Year, principals, Department of Education staff, members of professional organizations and the business community. The 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in early September. 


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.