Faculty awards

Bowdoin College, Brunswick: Craig McEwen, Daniel B. Fayerweather professor of political economy and sociology, and senior faculty fellow in the McKeen Center for the Common Good, has received the Maine Campus Compact’s  2010 Donald Harward Faculty Award for Service-Learning Excellence.

Saint Joseph’s College, Standish: The American College of Health Care Administrators has selected John Pratt of Standish to receive the organization’s Journalism Award for demonstrating excellent journalistic achievement in the field of long-term care. Pratt is a professor of health administration at Saint Joseph’s College and the author of “Long-Term Care: Managing Across the Continuum.”

Dean’s List

Assumption College, Worcester, Mass.: Jennifer Roberge, Biddeford; Clare Menapace, Kennebunk; Nicholas Cantrell, Portland; Jessica Roy and Chantel McLellan, both of Lewiston.

Becker College, Worcester, Mass.: Jessica Provencher, Berwick; Sara Stacey, Biddeford; Aaron Hiltz, Saco; Kimberly Roy, Lewiston; Casandra Green, West Bath; Carrie Hart, Belfast.

Clark University,
Worcester, Mass.: Dana Hanley, Cumberland; Isabel Burgess, Cumberland Foreside; Jacqueline Boenisch, Falmouth; Hunter Gray, North Yarmouth; Daniel Nye and Luke Nye, both of Old Orchard Beach; Margaret Swann, Karra Morneault, Meagan King, Elliot McInnis, Audrey Seiz and Robert Cooper, all of Portland; Marie Sirois, Saco; Jasper Muse and Alexandra Carter, both of South Portland; Jill Johnson, Westbrook; Alicia Gauvin, Sara Juegens and Joanna Clark, all of Windham.

Maine Maritime Academy,
Castine: Emmett Huber, Peaks Island; Zachary Tuttle and Chelsea Pettengill, both of South Portland; Calvin Klopp, Cape Elizabeth; Jason Smith, Portland.

St. Anselm College,
Manchester, N.H.: Brian Carlton, Arrowsic; Aaron Vigneault, Arundel; Elizabeth Trafton, Berwick; Callie Locke, Biddeford; Kandi Winchenbach, Boothbay; Alyson McDonough, Brunswick; Audrey Frenette, Buxton; Kristin Lawrence, Cumberland; Brittany Handcock, Cumberland Center; Courtney Tobey, Eliot; Riley Haddock, Falmouth; Matthew Hurd, Freeport; Kathleen Masterson, Gorham; Molly Parker, Harpswell; Catherine Daggett, Harrison; Courtney Gray, Hayley Ruitenberg, Stephen Shorey, Erin Smith, all of Kennebunk; Grace Reynolds, Lynn Reynolds, Kaylee Tyburski, all of Lewiston; Kati Sigler, Nobleboro; Meredith Graf, Meghan,Hart, Angela Balzano, Therese Gratto, Krista Merrill, all of Portland; Breana Coyle, Rockport; Zachary Shain, Sanford; Sophia Lemire, Scarborough; Miranda Conary, Warren; Molly Burgess, Wells; Abigail Crump, and Rose Forrester, both of Westbrook.

Widener University,
Chester, Pa.:  Shelby Currier and Jamie Currier, both of Brunswick.
Babson College, Wellesley Hills, Mass.: Dimitrios Pilitsis, Brunswick.

Berklee College of Music, Boston: Jennifer Adams, South Berwick; Marcus Bagala, Gray; Stoddard Blackall, Woolwich; Alexander Caron, Biddeford; Skyler Clark-Hamel, York; Patricio Diaz Semper, York Beach; William Gianetta, Scarborough; Ryan Goggans, Camden; Amy Mantis, Biddeford; Timothy Maurice, Oxford; Colby Millett, Kittery; Rebecca Scammon, Scarborough; Derek Thibault, Lisbon; Alexandra Wilkins, Portland.

University of New Haven
, West Haven, Conn.: Chelsea Annese, Topsham; Allyson Beaucage, Lewiston; Jeremy Belanger, Sanford; Jennifer Davis, South Portland; Nicole Faherty, Yarmouth; Mary Fuller, Boothbay; Kenneth Hall, Bath; Mark Ottman, Kennebunkport; Courtney Panetta and Matthew Stockburger, both of Kennebunk.

Salve Regina University, Newport, R.I.: Eric Sprague, Cape Elizabeth; Mallory Goding, Cumberland; Angelina Campbell, Falmouth; Nicole Schlegel, Kennebunkport; Christopher McCallum, Portland; Brian Sweeney, Waldoboro; Kelsey Fitzgibbons, Yarmouth.
Trinity College, Hartford, Conn.: Adam Norton, Cumberland; Victoria Paine, Portland; Whitney Weiler and Annalise Welte, both of Camden; Laura A. Piasio, Cumberland Foreside; Holly Yarmosh, Boothbay.

Villanova, Pa., University
: Jonathan Albert; Auburn; Cameron Foley and Mary Grygiel, both of Falmouth.
Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.: Kendall Hinkley, Falmouth; Amy Miller, Portland; Bennett Gale, Cumberland Center.
Wheelock College, Boston: Andrea Lavoie, Portland.


Bryant University, Smithfield, R.I.: Nicholas Norton of Scarborough; Luke Stankiewicz of Brunswick and Brianna Thompson of Westbrook were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma honor society.

Colby College, Waterville: Catarina Ruksznis of Dover Foxcroft, Alexander Boutin and Chelsea Stillman, both of Portland, and Clifford Vickrey of Cape Elizabeth were elected to Phi Beta Kappa.

Plymouth, N.H., State University
: Tori Cash of Portland won the New Hampshire Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers Student of the Year award.

Unity College, Unity: Rachel O’Brien of Biddeford is one of four who will receive the Maine Campus Compact statewide Heart and Soul Award.

University of Maine at Farmington: Area students have been named Michael D. Wilson Research Scholars. The program awards funds that help with research project expenses. The recipients are: Sean Chase of Mechanic Falls, Chris Herlan of Brunswick, Samuel Niman of Buxton, Gwendolyn Perry of Falmouth, Katie VanDerburgh of Gorham and Michael Webb and Davyd Collinson, both of Farmington.


Connecticut College, New London, Conn.: students who performed in “The Vagina Monologues” include Eliza Bryant of Freeport, Bryson Cowan of Thomaston and Hannah Read of Auburn. Serving on the production crew for “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” were Adam Sleeper and Anders Nielsen, both of Portland, while Kristin Kerr of Scarborough and Alyssa Bouthot of Saco performed.
Earlham College, Richmond, Ind.: Leila Hunter of Portland will perform in the Gospel Festival.

Keene, N.H., State College
: Molly Brewer of Wiscasset and Rachel Dagan of Eliot participated in the college’s 10th annual Academic Excellence Conference.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.