GOODALL HOSPITAL celebrated National Volunteer Appreciation Week with a reception honoring the more than 85 people who support numerous departments throughout the hospital. Derek Sagner was named the 2009 Volunteer of the Year for volunteering more than 1,150 hours to the Emergency Department. Thomas Kane and Maurice Littlefield were presented Above & Beyond Awards for 1,890 and 5,060 volunteer hours, respectively.

THE AMERICAN HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION and the Maine Hospital Association have awarded Darlene Stromstad, president and chief executive officer of Goodall Hospital, with the American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion Award for her leadership in effectively educating elected officials on major issues affecting a hospital’s role in the community. For more information, go to

THE NASSON COMMUNITY Center Little Theater and the Sanford-Springvale YMCA each will receive $1,000 from the Sanford Institution for Savings. Little Theater officials will apply the donation towards its goal to purchase theatrical lighting. The YMCA will use the funds to benefit for its “We Build People” annual campaign.


CHRISTOPHER WINCHESTER, an educational technician at Marshwood Great Works School, has received the 2010 Joan McGovern Educational Support Professional Award for providing exceptional work in his profession. The honor is bestowed to custodians, bus drivers and other unionized paraprofessionals.


PENOBSCOT MARINE Museum has announced new hours for its Stephen Phillips Memorial Library, Route 1 and Church Street. The research library will now be open from 9 a.m. to noon and from 1 to 4:30 p.m. Thursdays and from 9 a.m. to noon Fridays. The collection includes ships’ logs, business and church records and genealogical information and a large collection of boating and maritime-related books. For more information, call 548-2529 or go to


THE NEW ENGLAND OFFICE of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency presented Don Hudson with an Environmental Merit Lifetime Achievement Award on April 22 at Faneuil Hall in Boston. The award recognizes Hudson as an outstanding environmental advocate who has dedicated his life to preserving and protecting New England’s natural resources. Hudson has been president of the Chewonki Foundation in Wiscasset since 1991 and has worked there since 1962.


THE EDUCATION FOUNDATION of the Kennebunks and Arundel will award $25,000 to nine new and existing programs this spring. Those money will be used to purchase keyboarding software, a GPS Unit for geocaching during physical educations, and CDs to expand Science Companion curriculum kits for elementary and middle school students. Also getting money are a Summer at Risk math and literacy intensive for third-graders, art studies for fifth-graders at Heartwood College of Art, the setup of a French & Spanish Market for foreign language studies, an after-school Science Club and a Grade 7 trip to Chinatown in Boston.

HIGH SCHOOL LATIN III students Colin Eckland, Christopher Hoch and Josiah Petrin have received Cum Laude distinction for their participation in the 2010 National Latin Exam sponsored by the American Classical and National Junior Classical leagues. Twenty of the school’s Latin 1 also received awards, including Jacob Bear and Andrew Estrup, Gold Summa Cum Laude; Christopher Dunn, Katelyn Hirst, Hayley Johnson, James Stimpson, Kurt Oakman and David Pepin, Silver Summa Cum Laude Award; Diana Campbell, Christopher Merriam, Joshua Prevatt and Jillian Whitelaw, Magna Cum Laude distinction; and Brian Billett, Patrick Fulford, Jack Habzda, Zoie Lape, Molly Lapointe, Rachel Merriam, Timothy Price and Maria Varano, Cum Laude Award.


The 24th Literary Achievement Awards ceremony April 29 was sponsored by the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District and Ocean Bank. First place winners in kindergarten through Grade 12, respectively, were Kara Borkowski, Annabelle Breton, Francesca Ramsdell, Brian Hayden, Isabella Dykes, Madison Morin, Julia Nixon, Bethany Berger, Gabrielle Betters, Zoe Onion, Patrick Menard, Erica Mixon and David Littlefield. Each won a $100 cash prize and read all or a portion of their writing to an audience. Littlefield won the top prize and $500.


THE MORRIS FARM Trust and the Wiscasset Primary School are collaborating on a new school garden project. Bowdoin College’s McKeen Center for the Common Good has donated $1,124, and Wiscasset Middle School’s Project Reach Program donated $500. Work to build raised beds for the projec began Saturday.


“A MATTER OF BALANCE,” designed to manage falls and increase activity levels for seniors and people who are physically challenged, will be offered from 1 to 3 p.m. Tuesdays and Fridays, May 11 to June 4, at St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Church, 857 Maine St. To register, call Anne Murray, (800) 427-7411, Ext. 529.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.