The State of Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will recognize four individuals with the chapter’s major awards at its 23rd annual student-athlete awards banquet May 26 at Bowdoin College’s Thorne Hall in Brunswick.

The Distinguished American Award will be received by Navy Cmdr. Christopher J. Cassidy of York.

A bronze star award winner and astronaut, Cassidy served 10 years as a Navy Seal and last year completed his first space flight with over 376 hours in space and three spacewalks. Cassidy is a graduate of York High where he played football. He also is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy and MIT.

Gerry Hodge of Bangor will receive the Contribution to Amateur Football Award.

Hodge served as head coach of Bangor High for 18 seasons, leading the Rams to 116 wins and two state titles. He also coached at Mexico High for four years and has a career record of 150-52-6.

Matt Perkins of Windham will receive the Maine High School Coach of the Year award. Perkins led the Eagles (11-1) to the 2009 Class A state football championship in only the school’s seventh season in Class A.

Louis C. Barnes of Waterville will receive the Football Official Recognition Award as a long time high school and college football official in the state.

Tickets for the banquet, which begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by the dinner-banquet at 6, are $30. The general public is welcome. For ticket information, contact State of Maine Chapter president Howard Vandersea at 729-4210.

The State of Maine Chapter has been honoring scholar-athletes since 1988.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.