AUGUSTA — With the school year coming to a close this month, Maine’s labor commissioner is issuing a reminder about the state’s labor laws.

Laura Fortman says first jobs are great opportunities for young workers, but she adds Maine has laws to prevent teenagers from working overly long hours or in dangerous conditions.

Fortman says all 14- and 15-year-olds must have a work permit and can’t work more than eight hours a day and 40 hours a week in the summer months when school is out.

Sixteen- and 17-year-old are limited to 10 hours a day and 50 hours a week when school is out.

Fortman says a guide to Maine’s child labor laws is available on the Labor Department’s website.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.