Flagler College, St. Augustine, Fla.: Michael Greer, Cape Elizabeth.

Keene, N.H., State College: Alfred: Shawn Curley; Bridgton: Sara Handspicker; Gorham: Casey Bernier; Kennebunk: Emilie Brady, Emily Hansen; Saco: Melissa Small, Jessica Spellman, Nicole Turgeon; Scarborough: Allison Reid; Standish: Meghan Ledoux; Topsham: Nicole Kelley; North Yarmouth: Moreen Nickerson; Auburn: Ashleigh Guild, Taylor McIntosh; Lewiston: Ivan Staev; Norway: Owen Davis; Wiscasset: Molly Brewer; Rockport: Shannon Hall; Union: Anna Land; Norridgewock: Stacey Higgins; York: Stephanie Plaisted; Wells: Laura Beisswanger.


Kaplan University: Stephanie Cressey, Gorham, was invited to be a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

Springfield, Mass., College: Sean Meagher, Cape Elizabeth, has received the 2011 Britton C. McCabe Award for outstanding academic achievement.

University of Southern Maine, Portland and Gorham: Haley Carter, Saco, was recently inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society.

Connecticut College, New London: Angela Giordano, South Portland, was awarded the Susan J. Rose ’62 Prize; Alyssa Bouthot, Saco, was awarded the Sarah Nichols ’46 Award; Kayla Cogle, Portland, was awarded the Vladimir Papov Prize; Emma Judkins, Scarborough, received the Esther C. Cary Prize and the Jose Limon Award.

Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.: Dustin Oberlander, Lewiston, and Brianna Wellen, Freeport, have been selected for membership in the Honors Forum.


Ryan Stewart, husband of Gretchen (Spear) Stewart, formerly of Scarborough, has been accepted into the doctor of education program at Harvard University. The family will relocate to Boston from California in July.

AIDS activist Kristin Espey, Westbrook, has been named Outstanding Graduate of the Year by the Women and Gender Studies Department of the University of Southern Maine. Espey is a longtime case manager for the Frannie Peabody Center, Maine’s largest HIV/AIDS service organization.