In a move seemingly designed to reaffirm his independent credentials, U.S. Senate candidate Angus King today announced several campaign chairs representing broad political interests.

The statewide campaign chairs include three independents, three Democrats and three Republicans.

The move comes on the heels of widely distributed remarks from U.S. Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., who told The Hill that the Maine senate seat would be under Democratic control come 2013.

The list of statewide chairs includes former independent gubernatorial candidate Eliot Cutler, independent state Sen. Richard Woodbury, of Yarmouth, and former independent state lawmaker Sherry Huber.

Republicans include former gubenatorial candidate Matt Jacobson, former state lawmaker and King aide Sue Bell and former state lawmaker Jim Libby.

Former state lawmakers Judy Paradis, House Speaker Michael Saxl and Barbara Trafton are the Democratic campaign chairs.



Comments are no longer available on this story