In case you needed validation that the Mid-Coast was home to some of the best high school sports athletes in the state, the recent release of all-star lists took care of it.

Regardless of the sport, athletes from local schools caught the eye of coaches from their conference and throughout the state.

Here’s a glimpse:


The Pine Tree Conference first team offense included Brunswick running back Lucas McCue, guard Jacob Duffy and tackle Josh Thibeault.

The first team defense featured Brunswick lineman Thibeault, linebacker Duffy and safety Brady Larson.

The second team offense included Brunswick tight end Cody Buchheit.

Brunswick’s McCue, Thibeault and Adam Casey qualified for the All-Academic team.

Morse fullback Liam McDonough and Mt. Ararat fullback Michael Abreu and halfback Jordan Castonguay were named to the Campbell Conference Class B all-star team.

Morse’s Cameron Malcolm and Mt. Ararat’s Abreu, Castonguay, Nick Graney, Caleb Hall and Connor Read were given Campbell Conference Academic Achievement Awards.

Boys’ soccer

The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference boys’ soccer Class A first team featured Brunswick’s Blake Gordon and Mt. Ararat’s Eric Knight.

Brunswick’s Ryan Black and Cameron Glover and Mt. Ararat’s Jon Roux and Robbie Small made the second team.

Brunswick’s Black, Ryan Brescia and Gordon and Mt. Ararat’s Isaac Bradshaw qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.

In Class B, Morse’s Christopher Paulus qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Glover and Philip LeBlanc and Mt. Ararat’s Eric Knight were named to the Eastern A all-regional team.

All-state, All-New England and All-Americans will be named at a later date.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, in KVAC Class A, Brunswick’s Anna Cowan and Mt. Ararat’s Katie Labbay made the first team.

Brunswick’s Julia Champagne and Lyse Henshaw and Mt. Ararat’s Anna Manuel made the second team.

Mt. Ararat’s Sam Chard was named KVAC Coach of the Year.

Brunswick’s Anna Cowan, Madeline Cowan and Caley Nicholson and Mt. Ararat’s Connie Hodge, Danielle Krause and Nicole Ross qualified for the All-Academic team.

In Class B, Morse’s Miracle Trimble made the first team.

Morse’s Baylie Cram and Morgan Cram made the second team.

Morse’s Trimble was named Player of the Year.

Brunswick’s Anna Cowan and Mt. Ararat’s Anna Manuel and Libby Ouellette were named to the Eastern A all-regional team.

Morse’s Morgan Cram made the Western B all-regional team.

Brunswick’s Cowan had a goal in the East’s 6-0 win over the West in the Senior All-Star Game.

Morse’s Morgan Cram, Kaitlyn Dube, Nichole Logan, Page Martin and Savannah Simmons-Grover qualified for the All-Academic team.

All-state, All-New England and All-Americans will be named at a later date.

Field hockey

The KVAC field hockey Class A all-star team included Mt. Ararat’s Caitlin LaFountain.

Brunswick’s Grace Rabinowitz and Mt. Ararat’s Carly Raymond made the second team.

Brunswick’s Rabinowitz and Mt. Ararat’s Nellie Hetherington, LaFountain, Danielle Palmer and Kristen Pierce qualified for the All-Academic team.

Mt. Ararat’s LaFountain was also named to the all-state team.

Cross country

The KVAC Class A second team included Mt. Ararat’s Nathan MacKenzie and Sam Wood

The Class A girls’ all-star first team featured Brunswick’s Tessa Cassidy and Teresa Murphy and Mt. Ararat’s Kelly Lynch.

Brunswick’s Murphy was named Runner of the Year.

Class B boys’ cross country all-state first team included Morse’s Christopher Walfield.

The girls’ second team featured Morse’s Kelsea Albertson and Amy Franklin.

Brunswick’s Walter Martin and Zachry Miller, Morse’s Kyle Hummel and Aidan McGowan and Mt. Ararat’s Jake Demosthenes, Jonah Levy, Shea Nelson, Nick Rogers and Sam Wood qualified for the boys’ All-Academic team.

The girls’ All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Amy Lyons, Teresa Murphy, Brooke Trimmer, Anna Turner and Shannon Viola, Morse’s Rachel Detwiler and Amy Franklin and Mt. Ararat’s Emmie Cox, Dani Ingle and Bailey Sullivan.

Brunswick’s Murphy was named to the girls’ All-State team.


Golf’s KVAC Class A first team included Brunswick’s Derek Deveraux and Mt. Ararat’s Cam Cox and Tyler O’Connor.

The All-Academic team included Morse’s Oliver Kruze.


The KVAC cheering All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Sarah Basquez, Morse’s Miranda Doak and Mt. Ararat’s Saree Boutin.

Sidebar Elements

Brunswick’s Tessa Cassidy was one of the top runners in the region and was named to the KVAC all-star team.

Morse’s Christopher Paulus made the KVAC boys’ soccer All-Academic team.

Mt. Ararat’s Kristen Pierce was a member of the KVAC field hockey All-Academic team.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.