(Ed. Note: The SMAA football all-star team hadn’t been released by press time. When it is, we’ll list the local recipients)

The autumn of 2014 was extremely successful and local athletes made their presence felt on postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a glimpse:

Boys’ soccer

All four local boys’ soccer teams made it to the playoffs this year, highlighted of course by Cheverus’ memorable run to a championship.

The Stags placed junior forward Mackenzie Hoglund and junior back Andrei Vile on the Southwestern Maine Activities Association’s first-team. They were joined by Deering senior midfielder Stephen Ochan, senior forward Hany Ramadan and sophomore back Jonata Mbongo.

The SMAA second-team included Deering junior midfielder Jonathan Bujambi and Portland senior forward Jonathan Bobe, junior midfielder Josh Irving and junior back Erick Molina.

Cheverus senior midfielder Derek Hammond, Deering senior back Ahmed Adnan, junior back Christian Castaneda and sophomore goalkeeper Orey Dutton and Portland junior goalkeeper Bobby Brittingham were honorable mention selections.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Joseph DeGrinney, Derek Hammond, David Hinrichs, Ben Peterson, Nick Turner, Gerry Wagner and Taylor Yam, Deering’s Roberto Luis Lopez and Portland’s Connor Bruce, Haron Habibzai and Henry Stoddard.

Deering’s Ochan was named SMAA Offensive Player of the Year.

Deering’s Joel Costigan was named SMAA Co-Coach of the Year, along with Scarborough’s Mark Diaz.

In the Western Maine Conference, Waynflete placed seniors Harry Baker-Connick and Clancy Mitchell and juniors Milo Belleau and Willy Burdick on the Class C first-team.

Waynflete’s Mitchell qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Senior all-stars included Deering’s Ochan and Waynflete’s Baker-Connick.

Regional all-stars included Cheverus’ Hoglund and Deering’s Ochan in Western A and Waynflete’s Baker-Connick and Burdick in Western C.

Girls’ soccer

Every girls’ soccer squad also made the playoffs this season and there were plenty of all-stars in our midst.

The SMAA first-team included Deering senior goalkeeper Emily Mooney and Portland junior midfielder Chessa Hoekstra.

Cheverus senior midfielder Abby Goodrich and junior forward Lizzie Sullivan, Deering junior forward Simone Lauture and sophomore defender Sophie Silva, McAuley senior forward Ayla Tartre and junior goalkeeper Chelsea Rairdon and Portland senior defender Rachel Glover made the second team.

Honorable mentions included Deering junior midfielder Cora Melcher and sophomore midfielder Ewka Varney and Portland sophomore forward Kate Johnson.

McAuley’s Becca McNamara was named the SMAA Student-Athlete of the Year.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Hope Correia, Abby Goodrich, Laura Holman, Anna Neidermeyer, Eva Neidermeyer and Nicole Pineau, Deering’s Courtney Brett, Erin Matthews, Shannon Matthews and Meaghan Wells and Portland’s Claire Kirby and Jessica Wolfe.

In the WMC, Waynflete senior goalkeeper Julianna Harwood, junior Arianna Giguere and sophomore Isabel Canning all made the Class C first-team.

Harwood and Annarosa Whitman qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Regional all-stars included Cheverus’ Goodrich in Western A and Waynflete’s Giguere and Harwood in Western C.

Harwood was the West’s goalie in the Senior All-Star Game. The East won, 6-5. Cheverus’ Goodrich also took part.

Field hockey

Field hockey was another sport which produced a lot of triumph this fall.

The SMAA first-team included Cheverus’ Emily Michaud, Deering’s Rylie Turner and Portland’s Georgia Drew.

Cheverus’ Abby Ford, Deering’s Lili Kien, McAuley’s Mai Mangin and Portland’s Margaret Parker made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Kelsey Masselli, Casey Simpson and Quinn Snyder, Deering’s Rylie Turner, McAuley’s Sun Yool Park and Portland’s Georgia Drew, Tara O’Neal, Margaret Parker and Gabby Wagabaza all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Chloe Williams made the Division II first team. Waynflete’s Madison Pellow and Gavriella King were second-teamers.

Waynflete’s King, Pellow and Dana Peirce all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Deering’s Turner, Portland’s Drew and Waynflete’s Peirce and Williams were named to the All-State team.

Portland’s Renata Serio qualified for the Academic All-State team.

Cross country

On the trails, in the SMAA, Deering’s Yahya Hussein and Iid Sheikh-Hussein both qualified for the boys’ first-team.

Cheverus’ Josh Veroneau made the second team.

Cheverus’ Parker Montano and Portland’s Brad Ravanelle were honorable mentions.

Deering’s Sheikh-Yusef was named SMAA Runner of the Year.

Cheverus’ Keegan Thomas, Deering’s Matthew Bernier and Portland’s Matt Bliss, Patrick Shiels and Zackary Taylor qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Jacob Hagler made the All-Academic team.

The Maine Track and Cross Country Coaches Association all-state first-team included Deering’s Shiekh-Yusef.

Deering’s Hussein was an honorable mention.

On the girls’ side, Waynflete’s Ellie Chidsey and Phoebe Colvin-Oehmig made the WMC second-team.

Waynflete’s Colvin-Oehmig and Gemma Laurence qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the SMAA, Cheverus’ Kaitlyn Dostie, Deering’s Lucy Turnavicus, McAuley’s Kiera Kenneally and Portland’s Darcy Hinck were honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Georgia Caso, Kaitlyn Dostie and Megan Sawicki, Deering’s Kathy Chu and Veronica Eng, McAuley’s Brianna Doerfler, Anne Dube, Katherine McBrady and Adele Werner and Portland’s Francesca Butterfield, Bea Hesselbart, Darcy Hinck and Hannah Mermin qualified for the All-Academic team.


On the links, the SMAA Northern Division first-team included Cheverus’ Chris Billings.

Deering’s Ian Westphal made the second-team.

Cheverus’ Cole Tracy qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Will Nelligan of Waynflete made the All-Conference team.

Waynflete’s Scott Ralston qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.


Cheverus placed senior setter Josie Bradshaw on the SMAA volleyball all-star team as an honorable mention.

Bradshaw, along with teammates Margaret Rigney, Samantha Sessler and Natalie Waite, Deering’s Evelyn Molina and Portland’s Ella Coose, Brianna Frank and Olivia Gilbert, all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Portland’s Jonathan Bobe made the SMAA boys’ soccer all-star team.

Waynflete’s Isabel Canning was named to the Western Maine Conference girls’ soccer all-star team.

Cheverus’ Emily Michaud was an SMAA field hockey all-star.

Deering’s Iid Sheikh-Yusef qualified for the SMAA boys’ cross country first-team.