Awards and Honors

 Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines, has selected the following area students:

University of Southern Maine: Audrey Maria Goss, Berwick; Danielle Pratt, Dayton; Heather Richards, Biddeford; Sarah Huber, York; Laura Personette, Auburn; Jean McDonald, Cape Elizabeth; Grace Valenzuela, Cumberland; Allston Parkinson, Falmouth; Katee Poulin and Katherine Smith, both of Freeport; Shannon Rooney, Hollis Center; Brittany Thompson and Jean Beaulieu, both of Kennebunk; Kassandra Coleman, Lebanon; Jessica Irving, Livermore Falls; Erin Raymond, New Gloucester; Dale McQueeney, Poland; Darien Brahms, Arland Mornhinweg, Erika Lindstrom, Meaghan Bradbury, Emily Brill, Bailey Saliwanchik, George Eyerer, Laurie Grant, Mallory Orzechowski, Amber Hobbs, Caroline Paras, Albert McCormack, Annika Treyball, Jason Greenbaum, John Susi, Sarah Scheele, Jesse Blaisdell, Sharon Mae Wee, Jennifer Pease and Megan Pryor, all of Portland. Jessica Poisson, Sabattus; Haley Carter, Saco; Christen Stande, Sebago; Molly Gallagher and Molly Nelson, both of South Portland; Gregory Johnson, Standish; Mary Hayes, Topsham; Alexis Lyon and Kevin Kennedy, both of Westbrook; Kate Stephens, Yarmouth;

University of Maine: Robyn King of Berwick, Nathan Dunn of Berwick, Eric Wold of Freeport, Kelly Edwards of Pownal and Abigail MacDonald of Yarmouth;

Ithaca College: Samantha Martemucci of Arundel and Jared Prugar of York; University of Tampa: Annabella Palopoli of Brunswick; Arizona State University: David Andrukaitis of Gray; Lycoming College: Lindsay Decker of Shapleigh.

• Castleton (Vt.) State College: Kevin Kareckas of South Berwick has been selected as a Fulbright Scholar and will teach English at a university in Poland for a full academic year.

• Colby College, Waterville: The following area students have been elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa national honor society for liberal arts and sciences undergraduates: Carolyn Bennett, Scarborough; Katherine Daigle, Springvale; Samantha Drivas, South Portland; Sara George, Limington; and Kevin Philbrick, Scarborough.

 Colby-Sawyer College, New London, N.H.: The Tomie dePaola Whitebird Paper Award was awarded to Elaine Miller of Windham; Kristin Lambert of Lyman; and Charlotte Recknagel of Bath. Miller was also awarded the Charlotte Cobb Stahl Scholarship.

 Lycoming College, Williamsport, Pa.: Lindsay Decker of Shapleigh was inducted into the chapter of Phi Alpha Theta history honor society.

 Maine Community College System has named its Student of the Year award winners, one from each of the seven campuses. Each student receives the John H. Lapoint Jr. Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000. The students are: CMCC: Brianna Mae Crosby, Wayne; EMCC: Angel Pacheco, Jackman; KVCC: Keith Sullivan, Fairfield; NMCC: Duska Kingsbury, Mars Hill; SMCC: Maisarah Miskoon, Portland; WCCC: Alana-Marie Pulkkinen, Monmouth; YCCC: David Dionne, Alfred.

 Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology: Talia McKay of Windham was named an Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar; Hanan Ahmed of Lewiston received the Frederick Douglass Memorial Scholarship.

 St. Lawrence University, Canton, N.Y.: Casey Hart of Portland has been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa national honor society for liberal arts and sciences undergraduates; Benjamin Woodbury of Yarmouth was selected for membership in Gamma Sigma Alpha national academic honor society; Elizabeth Muller of Brunswick received the Linda Reeves Pettit Endowed Merit Scholarship; Mia Thomas of Freeport received the Tanner Fellowship Award.

 Stonehill College, Easton, Mass.: The following students have been inducted into Lambda Epsilon Sigma Honor Society: Benjamin Cote of Biddeford, Ashley DeBlois of Auburn, Peter Krahe of Scarborough and Christine Zambernardi of Cumberland; Marie O’Brion of Portland was inducted into the Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society; Analise Kump of Cumberland Foreside was inducted into Sigma Iota Rho Honor Society and also Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society; Ashley DeBlois of Auburn, Mckayla Eskilson of Raymond, Peter Krahe of Scarborough, Meghan McDonough of Brunswick and Christine Zambernardi of Cumberland Center have been inducted into Psi Chi Honor Society; Daniel Bonneau of Biddeford was inducted into Omicron Delta Epsilon Honor Society; Marina Goding of Cumberland and Sally Littlefield of Poland were inducted into the Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society.