A Yarmouth middle school teacher is one of eight semifinalists for the Maine 2017 Teacher of the Year, state education officials announced Thursday.

The eight were selected from among the 2016 County Teachers of the Year.

They will now go through a portfolio review and oral presentation before three finalists are selected. The winner will be announced at a surprise assembly at their school in October.

The semifinalists are:

Morgan Cuthbert, a seventh-grade math and science teacher at Harrison Middle School, Yarmouth.

Michael McCartney, Maine School of Science and Mathematics, Limestone. He teaches English, fitness, history and first-year seminar.

Selina Warren, a second-grade teacher at Kingfield Elementary School, Kingfield.

Rebecca Tapley, who teaches all subjects for grades four through eight at Brooklin Elementary School, Brooklin.

Andrew Forster, Messalonskee High School, Oakland. He teaches band, music production, independent study and jazz band.

Beth Heidemann, a kindergarten teacher at Cushing Community School, Cushing.

Cherrie MacInnes, a third-grade teacher at Brewer Community School, Brewer.

Tamara Ranger, who teaches English in grades seven and eight at Skowhegan Area Middle School, Skowhegan.

The 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year was Talya Edlund, a third-grade teacher at Pond Cove Elementary School in Cape Elizabeth.