PORTLAND — Two incumbent Democratic state representatives have primary challengers, while an open seat in Senate District 28 will have a contested Democratic primary.

The deadline for candidates from parties to file nomination papers for the June 12 primaries was March 15. Candidates who are not affiliated with a party have until June 1 to file. The general election is Nov. 6.

In House District 36, which extends from Canco Road west to the city boundary with Westbrook, former Mayor Michael Brennan, 49 Wellington Road, a Democrat, is seeking the nomination to replace state Rep. Denise Harlow, also a Democrat. Harlow is unable to seek re-election because of state term limit laws.

Samuel P. Ledue, 1396 Forest Ave., is the Republican candidate.

Incumbent Democratic state Rep. Richard Farnsworth, 55 Old Mast Road, is seeking re-election in House District 37, which reaches through the south and west of Portland. Republican Jane E. Frey, 90 Rowe Ave., is uncontested in the Republican primary.

In House District 38, which covers the city’s West End, incumbent Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen is the only party candidate who filed. He is seeking his fourth term.

Incumbent Rep. Michael Sylvester, of 159 Central Ave. on Peaks Island, is the only Democratic candidate to file in House District 39. Republican Peter I. Doyle, 49 Cumberland Ave., has filed to run in his party’s primary for the seat. Sylvester is seeking his second term and defeated Doyle in the 2016 general election.

In House District 40, spanning the Parkside and Oakdale neighborhoods, incumbent Democrat Rachel Talbot Ross is seeking a second term. She is opposed in the primary by former state Rep. Herb Adams. No Republicans filed for the primary, leaving the Democratic primary winner unopposed in the general election unless an independent candidate surfaces.

Rep. Erik Jorgensen, the Democratic incumbent, is seeking his fourth term in House District 41, which covers the Libbytown, Deering Center, and Rosemont neighborhoods. Republican James Azzola, 33 Florence St., who Jorgensen defeated in general elections in 2014 and 2016, is the only GOP primary candidate.

In House District 42, Democratic Rep. Benjamin Collings, who lists P.O. Box 1213 as his address, faces a challenge from Democrat April Fournier, 1241 Washington Ave. Collings is completing his first term in the district, which extends north from Back Cove and includes the East Deering area.

Republican Susan Abercrombie, 48 Malilly Road, who was defeated by Collings in the 2016 general election for the seat, has filed to run again.

In House District 43, which is comprised of northern Portland and a portion of western Falmouth, Democrat W. Edward Crockett, 128 Bramblewood Drive, has filed to replace state Rep. Heather Sanborn.

Republican Cathleen M. Nichols, of 41 Stapleton Drive in Falmouth, is seeking her party’s nomination to the seat.

Sanborn, 82 Frost Hill Road, is now seeking the Democratic nomination in state Senate District 28, where Sen. Mark Dion is running for the Democratic nomination for governor. Opposing Sanborn in the Democratic primary to replace Dion is City Councilor Jill Duson, 101 Pennell Ave. Duson lost to Dion in the 2016 Democratic primary for the seat.

Republican Patrick Martin, of 8 Richards St., Westbrook, has filed as the GOP primary candidate in the district that covers western Portland and a portion of Westbrook.

In Senate District 27, which comprises the city’s peninsula and reaches to the Deering area, incumbent Democratic Sen. Ben Chipman, 5 Mayo St., is unopposed for his party’s nomination.

Republican Josh Kelton, 57 Moody St., has filed for the GOP.

Crystal Canney, 103 Gleckler Road, has registered with the Maine Ethics Commission as an unenrolled candidate for the seat, which Chipman first won in 2016.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.