The Jordan Hersom era as York High’s football coach ended before it ever began.

Now it’s Matt Nelson, a York graduate, who will be the Wildcats’ coach. Nelson has accepted the position, pending school committee approval next week, according to a press release from Athletic Director Andy Wood.

Hersom, the 2011 Fitzpatrick Trophy winner as a quarterback at Leavitt, was announced Feb. 22 as the choice to replace 21-year coach Randy Small. Hersom was the offensive coordinator at Gardiner last season.

But Hersom, a health and physical education teacher in Turner schools, also wanted a full-time teaching position in the York school system. When that request could not be met, Hersom withdrew his name from consideration.

Wood said in Wednesday’s announcement that Nelson was the other clear front-runner to replace Small in the initial interview process. Nelson was an athlete at York and Norwich University. He has coaching experience in the Concord, New Hampshire, football system and York’s youth football program, according to the release.



A.R. Gould coach to receive national award

Chad Sturgis, who has guided the A.R. Gould boys’ basketball team to the Class D South final two years in a row, is one of 50 national winners of the Positive Coaching Alliance’s Double-Goal Coach Award.

The award honors coaches who teach life lessons through sports while also striving to win. Sturgis will be recognized at the PCA’s national banquet Saturday at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California.

A.R. Gould is the school at Long Creek Youth Development Center, a juvenile correctional facility in South Portland. Sturgis has been coaching there for a decade.

“The players want to give maximum effort and learn because Chad acknowledges each player’s assets and how they contribute to the team,” said Kim Deering, A.R. Gould’s athletic director. “(Sturgis) connects the lessons learned from being on the team to their personal lives to become positive and productive members of the community.”



Maine Sports Hall picks five scholarship recipients

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame will award five high school senior athletes with $5,000 scholarships at its induction ceremony on June 3.

This year’s recipients, chosen from more than 200 applicants statewide, are: Jessica Brown of Portland, softball; Shelby Cowin of Greenville, skiing; Luke Groothoff of Yarmouth, soccer; Jake Martin of York, hockey/track and field; and Annika Rogers of Islesboro, snowshoeing/sailing.

The scholarships are based on academic and athletic achievements and impact on their respective communities through community service.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.