ROCKLAND — The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference high school golf shootout was held on Thursday at Rockland Golf Club, with champions crowned in both Class A and Class B.

In the Class A competition, Mt. Ararat easily captured the title, with its top four golfers combining for a 162 on the course’s par-36 front nine. Caleb Manuel and Cade Charron each shot 38s, with Ben Hickson (42) and Willy Kavanaugh (44) figuring into the scoring. Eagles Ty Henke (45) and Eli Schoenberg (46) also played well.

“We have three seniors, this is their fourth year at this, and they’re very competitive golfers. And the junior (Manuel) that we have is probably one of the best golfers in the state,” Mt. Ararat coach Gerry Caron said after his Eagles automatically qualified for the State Class A Championship, which will be held at Natanis Golf Club in Vassalboro on Oct. 6 (10 a.m. start). “He’s just so competitive, and he’s such a practice nut. He’ll go home and, if it’s not dark, he’ll go on the golf course and play again tonight. … He’s very gifted.

“There were a couple of teams today that probably had a shot at it, but I think coming in, we were favored. We’ve been shooting 160, in the 50s, we’ve been pretty much in the 50s all year. … It would have taken a good score for us to get beat. It worked out pretty good for us.”

Lewiston finished second with at 182, followed by Brewer (187) and Messalonskee (197) in Class A.



In Class B, Morse finished the regular season with a perfect 10-0 record on Rockland’s back nine.

The Shipbuilders found the going a bit tougher on Thursday, finishing fourth with a score of 200. Morse was led by Angus Brown (45), Dom Marco (48), Kaleb Jackson (52) and Tanner Hennin (55).

Medomak Valley, the No. 3 seed coming in, took home the title, finishing at 173, followed by Gardiner (181) and Nokomis (193).

Carson Murphy shot a 39 in the No. 1 match to lead the way for Medomak, while No. 4 Leighton Winslow carded a 40, No. 2 Sean Sebrey had a 45 and No. 5 Clayton Belcher shot 49.

Drew Bonifant of the Kennebec Journal contributed to this story.

Comments are not available on this story.