ETHAN NJITOH, Senior – Soccer

Contributed photo

* Class B South regional all-star
• WMC all-star, first-team
* Captain

Njitoh was one of the league’s and state’s top strikers, a matchup nightmare for the opposition and a team leader who helped the Rangers reach the playoffs for the 11th straight season.

Njitoh led Greely in scoring as a sophomore (during a COVID-shortened campaign), then scored 10 times as a junior, pacing the Rangers again, as he was named Greely Fall Athlete of the Year.

This season, despite being sidelined for three games with injury, Njitoh scored 15 more goals (giving him a career total of 29) and added four assists (18 for his career).

Highlights included four goals in a season-opening win over Poland, two in a tie against Freeport, a penalty kick goal in a loss to Yarmouth, two goals in a win over York, three goals in a win at Sacopee Valley and one final goal in a quarterfinal round playoff loss to Cape Elizabeth.


While his time with the program has come to a close, Ethan Njitoh, Greely’s Fall Athlete of the Year, will long be remembered for his scoring touch.

Coach Mike Andereasen’s comment: “For the past two seasons, Ethan has been our ‘go-to’ guy on offense, as he has led the team in scoring both years and recorded many assists. Quiet and reserved, Ethan took on more of a leadership role this year as a captain and was a tremendous teammate, especially to our younger players. His loss will create a huge void on our team, particularly on the offensive end.”

Contributed photo

Prior winners:

• 2021 Ethan Njitoh (soccer)
* 2020 Andrew Klein (golf)
• 2019 Aidan Melville (soccer)
• 2018 Joey Cassella (football)
• 2017 Quinn Molloy (soccer)
• 2016 Paul Buchanan (football)
• 2015 Sam Peck (football)
• 2014 Aidan Roberts (golf)
• 2013 Matt Crowley (soccer)
• 2012 Svenn Jacobsen (football)
• 2011 Stefan Sandreuter (cross country)
• 2010 Jon Higgins (football)
• 2009 Logan Price (cross country)
• 2008 Steven Chase (soccer)
• 2007 James LePage (cross country)
• 2006 Oliver Blum (soccer)
• 2005 Greg Frost (soccer)
• 2004 Casey Diehl (cross country)
• 2003 Will Robinson (golf)
• 2002 Ben True (cross country)
• 2001 Ben True (cross country)

RUTH WEEKS, Senior – Golf

Contributed photo

• Class A individual champion
• SMAA all-star, first-team


Weeks continued Greely’s legacy of dominant female golfers by capturing a state title, capping a stellar season and career.

Weeks made a quick impact on the program, finishing runner-up at the girls’ individual state match as a sophomore, shooting an 18-hole round of 89. As a junior, she tied for third (96) at states during a season which saw her qualify for the All-Conference team. Weeks, who is a member of the New England Junior team as well as the Maine Amateur top 40, finished 18th in the Maine Women’s Amateur championship, the best finish among high school players, then put it all together this fall.

Weeks averaged a 9-hole score of 42.5 and went 5-2 in the regular season. Then, Weeks saved her best for last, shooting an 18-hole round of 84 at the SMAA qualifier, before registering a round of 89 at states, which gave her the crown by a stroke over Thornton Academy’s McKenna Castle.

“It meant a lot, being my senior year, being my last year,” Weeks said. “I was nearly tearing up on the last hole, because it’s just so surreal it’s your last time through. It’s very bittersweet that this is the last one.”

Weeks joins Laura Grant, Erin Holmes and 2018 Athlete of the Year Rachel Smith as recent Greely champions.

She belongs in that lofty company. Ruth Weeks, Greely’s Fall Athlete of the Year, was superb all season and was at her absolute best when the stakes were highest and she earned the title of state champion.

Coach Brian Bickford’s comment: “Ruth is one of my favorite Greely golfers all-time. Ruth’s tenacity to improve her game is one of her biggest strengths. If something wasn’t quite right, she’d be on the lesson tee at 6:30 am before school working out the kinks. Ruth’s short game really was a strength and she was always working on it. Ruth is a leader. She was always concerned about team chemistry and making sure players felt comfortable playing in their spots. Ruth was all about team and less about individual. I will miss her permanent smile and her quiet leadership.”

File photo

Prior winners:

• 2021 Savanna Harvey (field hockey)
* 2020 Hannah Perfetti (field hockey)
• 2019 Marin Provencher (cross country)
• 2018 Rachel Smith (golf)
• 2017 Sydney Meredith-Pickett (field hockey)
• 2016 Kayley Cimino (volleyball)
• 2015 Izzy Hutnak (soccer)
• 2014 Katherine Leggat-Barr (cross country)
• 2013 Kirstin Sandreuter (cross country)
• 2012 Haleigh Roach (volleyball)
• 2011 Maggie Bradley (volleyball)
• 2010 Kirstin Sandreuter (cross country)
• 2009 Erin Cadigan (volleyball)
• 2008 Hillary Cederna (volleyball)
• 2007 Mackenzie Ross (field hockey)
• 2006 Aly Robinson (soccer)
• 2005 Amanda Gray (volleyball)
• 2004 Rachelle Doucette (soccer)
• 2003 Hayly Ross (field hockey)
• 2002 Kim Alexander (soccer)
• 2001 Amanda Chase (field hockey)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Comments are not available on this story.

filed under: