1. Cheverus

The defending Class A champion returns five of its top seven runners, including New England individual winner Emily Durgin and fellow junior Fiona Hendry, who was third in the West Regional. Seniors Hillary Morin and Caroline Summa, junior Maddie Woods and sophomore Greta Niedermeyer have big-meet experience. Newcomers Shannon Conley and Lizzie Gwilym (from soccer) should help.

2. Cape Elizabeth

Seniors Rachel Nichols and Kelsey Barton lead an experienced squad seeking its fourth straight Class B state title and eighth straight regional crown. Junior Catherine Tierney, and sophomores Emma Inhorn and Ellen Best fill out the top five. Dana Hatton and Emily LoBosco head a talented group of freshmen.

3. Mt. Ararat

The Eagles, the defending Eastern Class A champions, return their top four runners and five of the top six. Seniors Kate Spies and Chloe Emerson, juniors Emma Wood and Emilia McGrath, and sophomore Lauren McNett all placed among the top 25 in the regional meet. Freshman Emmie Cox could break into the top five.

4. Massabesic

The Mustangs return five of their top seven from the team that finished second in Class A. In addition to veterans Tory Hurlburt, Charlotte Pierce, Lauren Pierce, Nikki Smith and Maggie Lee, Massabesic gains junior Mikayla Frazier (who missed last fall with a leg injury) and sophomores Jocelyn Acheson (from outdoor track) and Nikki Roberge (hip injury last fall).

5. York

The Wildcats return five of their top seven from the regional and state runners-up in Class B. Seniors Michaela Swiatek and Liz Ferland lead the veteran group, which includes juniors Mallory Evans and Briana Eaton, and sophomore Nina Boutin. Impressive freshman Heather Evans, who won her varsity debut last weekend in a five-school meet, makes York a title contender.


1. Scarborough

With four Class A state titles in the past six years, Scarborough has proven itself a premier program. This year’s edition features an experienced quartet of junior Nick Morris, seniors Tom Hague and Zach Brown, and sophomore Robby Hall. Freshmen Ian Morris and Matt Aceto, and juniors Wout Moulin, Mike Tudor and Ethan Law will compete for the final scoring spot.

2. Greely

The Rangers are seeking their fourth straight Class B state title and ninth in 12 years. Four of the top seven return: seniors Sam Johnston and Connor Regan, and juniors Stefan Sandreuter and Isaak Emery. Junior James Currie, and sophomores Nate Madeira and Ian Byron will compete for the fifth spot.

3. Falmouth

Five of the top seven runners return for a team that, along with Cape Elizabeth, York and Caribou, will challenge Greely for Class B honors. Junior Tim Follo leads a team of more than three dozen runners that includes senior John Lake, and juniors Henry Briggs, Tom Edmonds and Conor McGrory.

4. Gorham

Seniors Logan Marshall, Jeremy Earl and Andy Turner give the Rams a strong trio up front. After 27 years, John Wilkinson has stepped down as head coach, and will be replaced by former assistant Jason Tanguay. Among those competing for the fourth and fifth spots are senior Will Ross, juniors Joe DeRoy and Cortlandt Dunn, and sophomores Connor Dunn and Alex Thuotte.

5. Massabesic

The Mustangs may not have the front-runners of some of the other schools, but their depth may prove decisive in the larger meets. Seniors Jacob Brooks, Peter LePage, Nate Harris and Zack Cost lead a veteran team that includes sophomore Cody Vachon, and juniors Cory Mongiat and Cody Frazier.

— Glenn Jordan