By Michael Hoffer
The Deering wrestling program continued its tradition of producing champions Saturday at the Class A state meet in Augusta.
Ryan Toussaint won the 125-pound title with a 6-1 decision over Noble’s Joseph Badger. Toussaint previously defeated Gardiner’s Wyatt Thorton by pin at 1 minute, 35 seconds and Bonny Eagle’s Patrick Gallant in a 12-1 major decision.
Deering’s Tyler DeBardino won the consolation final in the 285-pound class, pinning Nokomis’ Heiko Nichols in 4:04. DeBardino previously defeated Nichols via pin at 4:42 before losing to Cony’s Shawn White by pin at 2:40. Before beating Nichols to win the consolation round, DeBardino pinned Bonny Eagle’s Tyler Meikle in 1:59.
Ben Sawyer was pinned at 1:26 by Morse’s Tyler Russell in the 171-pound class. Sawyer beat Gardiner’s Lance Williams on a pin at 3:14 before losing to Mt. Ararat’s Zach Chandler in a 10-2 major decision in the consolation round.
The Rams wound up tying Westbrook for eighth with 40 points. Noble grabbed the championship with 170.5 points, ending Massabesic’s reign. The Mustangs placed second with 155.
Portland didn’t score as a team. Glody Kayumba was pinned by Mt. Ararat’s Frank True at 1:02 and was pinned by Cony’s Mike Fraser at 1:50 in the consolation round.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]