AUGUSTA — Gov. John Baldacci and state education officials will recognize the 14 candidates for Maine’s 2010 Teacher of Year award on Friday, March 13, during a ceremony in the Hall of Flags.
Nominees include: Thomas Fournier of Lincoln Middle School in Portland, Jayne Quinn Sawtelle of Hall Elementary School in Portland, Kevin Grover of D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth, Rich Meserve of the REAL School in Falmouth/Windham, and Stewart Palmer of Mt. Ararat High School in Topsham.
The nominees will undergo a vetting process that will include a school site visit, a professional portfolio review, an oral presentation and final interviews.
The selection committee includes past teachers of the year, principals, Department of Education staff and members of professional organizations and the business community.
The 2010 Maine Teacher of the year will be announced in early September.