AUGUSTA — Eight students from across Maine will be honored Thursday for their dedication to completing their educations in the face of adversity.

First Lady Karen Baldacci will present the 2010 Youth Who Rock Awards at the Blaine House starting at 2 p.m.

This year’s award winners are: Victoria Forbis of Deering High School in Portland; Bryan Cartwright of Greely High School in Cumberland; Kevin Merrill of Massabesic High School in Waterboro; Kayla Anthony of Washington Academy in East Machias; Samantha Howe of Maranacook High School in Readfield; Gustavo Ortiz of Washington County Community College; Dustin Ratcliff of Skowhegan Area High School; and Jason Willey of Ashland High School.

The students maintained their commitment to education despite various challenges, such as homelessness, foster care placement, correctional facility placement, in-patient psychiatric care or high mobility.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.