WHEN: 2 p.m.

WHERE: Dover (Del.) International Speedway (oval, 1 mile)

DISTANCE: 400 miles, 400 laps


LAST YEAR: Jimmie Johnson posted the last of his six 2010 victories en route to his record fifth straight season title. Johnson has six career victories at Dover.

LAST WEEK: Tony Stewart raced to his second straight victory in this year’s Chase for the Sprint Cup, pulling ahead when Clint Bowyer ran out of gas with two laps left at New Hampshire. Stewart opened the 10-race playoffs with a victory at Chicagoland.

FAST FACTS: Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch share the series lead with four victories. … Matt Kenseth won in May at the track.

NEXT RACE: Hollywood Casino 400, Oct. 9, Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Mo.

Driver standings

1. Tony Stewart 2,094

2. Kevin Harvick 2,087

3. Brad Keselowski 2,083

4. Carl Edwards 2,080

5. Jeff Gordon 2,071

6. Kyle Busch 2,068

6. Matt Kenseth 2,068

6. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2,068

9. Kurt Busch 2,066

10. Jimmie Johnson 2,065

11. Ryan Newman 2,060

12. Denny Hamlin 2,028