BRUNSWICK HIGH SCHOOL goaltender Greg Walton was selected as the KVAC Boys Soccer Player of the Year, leading the Dragons to an Eastern Maine Class A semifinal berth.

BRUNSWICK HIGH SCHOOL goaltender Greg Walton was selected as the KVAC Boys Soccer Player of the Year, leading the Dragons to an Eastern Maine Class A semifinal berth.


The coaches votes and season tabulations are in, and the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference All-Conference teams are set for soccer, golf, cross country and field hockey.

Field hockey

Mt. Ararat, which went 10-4 in the regular season and won a postseason game for the first time in decades (4-0 quarterfinal verdict over Lewiston), was represented by Caitlin LaFountain on the First Team and Mallory Nelson on the Second Team.

MORSE GIRLS SOCCER PLAYER Bess Howell, right, was selected to the KVAC Class B First Team after leading the Shipbuilders to a second straight Western Maine Class B title game.

MORSE GIRLS SOCCER PLAYER Bess Howell, right, was selected to the KVAC Class B First Team after leading the Shipbuilders to a second straight Western Maine Class B title game.

“Caitlin and Mallory both led by example,” lauded Mt. Ararat coach Kelly LaFountain. “They worked really hard to push themselves in practices and games. Caitlin was more offensive-minded and Mallory was more defensive minded on the field, and they complemented each other really well at the centermid and center-back positions. Their competitive drive and ability to play their positions so well enabled the other players around them to play hard and take more chances because they were confident those two would back them up.

“The girls respected their contributions athletically and would listen to their suggestions to help make us better as a team. They were definitely a nice, one-two combination to have this season.”

Player of the Year was Kristyna Bernatchez of Messalonskee and Coach of the Year Paula Doughty of State Class A champion Skowhegan, which went 17-0 with one goal scored upon.

Also picked to the Second Team were Brunswick’s Olivia LeRoy and Grace Rabinowitz.

Field hockey All-Academics included Mt. Ararat’s Charlotte Crosby, Nelson, Taylor Pare and Sarah Sandlin, along with Brunswick’s Ariel Bouchard, Sydney Escoe, Michele Ingram and LeRoy.

In Class B, All-Academic picks included Morse’s Natasha Jacobs, Aysia McCloud, Abigail Moore and Hannah Rossetti.

Girls soccer

Brunswick’s Paige Tetu was named Player of the Year in the Class A South Division, while Erskine Academy’s Ryan Nored was named Coach of the Year.

Tetu is a four-year varsity player and was a tri-captain this fall.

“Paige’s assets include that she communicates very well and has strong opinions on how the team should play and how we are playing,” said Brunswick coach Martyn Davison. “She loves to play to feet and is technically a very good soccer player with a great first touch and a ferocious shot. Soccer is her life and she plays year-round with Seacoast United. She took all our corner and free kicks. Paige had 15 goals and 16 assists.”

In those four years, the Dragons’ overall record was 66-4, including a 19-0 season in 2009. There were two KVAC Championships (2009, 2010), two Eastern Maine runner-up titles (2010, 2011), an Eastern Maine Championship (in 2009) and a Class A State Championship (in 2009)

Tetu was also named First Team, along with Anna Cowan (28 goals, nine assists), Rachel Moroney (15-12) and midfield standout Allison Hill.

Also selected to the First Team was Chelsea Crawford of Mt. Ararat.

On the boys’ side, Brunswick goaltender Greg Walton was named Player of the Year and Mt. Ararat coach Rick Renaud Coach of the Year.

Walton helped the Dragons to eight shutouts en route to an 8-4-2 regular season.

“He is a great keeper and one of the best to come out of the state in a while, “ said Brunswick coach Mark Roma. “Greg takes his craft very seriously and it shows in his training and his performance on the pitch. I actually met him about five or six years ago when I was working for Coastal Soccer Club. I was training Ollie Blum and Greg was in the younger group at the time. I invited him to train with us because I thought he could handle it. I thought Ollie was going to take his head off a couple of times, but Greg never backed down. I left the club the next year and it was obvious that Greg never stopped working over that time.

“Greg is also a student of the game,” continued Roma. “He follows the sport internationally, not to mention being the best ‘FIFA2012’ video game player on the team. His true leadership comes from his desire to play his best everyday and he would get frustrated when others didn’t share the same commitment. He is going to be very succesful at Eastern Connecticut … they are getting a potential Division I player. I also think he could be a quality coach when he decides to hang his gloves up. He sees the field like a coach and understands the game on a high level for a high school player. We have had some great conversations about formations and different game plans.”

Selected to the First Team were Brunswick’s Walton, Konnor Scarponi and Jimmy Kenyon, along with Mt. Ararat’s Dan Purinton and Will Hirnak.

Mt. Ararat made it to the State Class A championship before falling to Scarborough 4-0.

Second Team picks included Ryan Black of Brunswick, and Gabe Pelletier and Dylan Michaud of Mt. Ararat.

All-Academic picks in soccer included Libby Arford and Hill of Brunswick, Sydni Clark, Sonja Robert, and Kristi Willey of Mt. Ararat for the girls, and Brunswick’s Kenyon, and Mt. Ararat’s Brian Johnson and James McCracken for the boys.

In Class B, the Morse girls went to the Western Maine Class B Championship before falling to Falmouth 2-0. Bess Howell and Miracle Trimble were selected to the First Team and Paige Martin to the Second Team, while Camden Hills’ Kristina Alex was Player of the Year and Camden’s Meredith Messer Coach of the Year.

On the boys side, Aaron LaPointe of Morse was named to the Second Team, while former Richmond High School standout Don Beckwith of Maranacook was named Coach of the year and Gabe Smith of Winslow Player of the Year.

On the Academic side, Nicholas Theriault and Paul Whalen of Morse were picked, along with Morse’s Sadia Crosby, Megan Hixon, Howell and Elizabeth Walfield for the girls.

Cross country

First Team Class A picks for the boys included Sam Wood of Mt. Ararat, while Mt. Blue’s Justin Tracy was Runner of the Year and Lewiston’s T.J. Niles Coach of the Year.

Second Team selections included Nathan Mackenzie of Mt. Ararat.

For the Class A girls, Tessa Cassidy and Teresa Murphy of Brunswick were First Team picks, along with Mt. Ararat’s Kelly Lynch and Olivia Swan.

On the Second Team were Tiffany Tanner of Brunswick and Lauren McNett of Mt. Ararat.

Diane Fournier of Mt. Ararat was named Coach of the Year, while Erzsebet Nagy of Lawrence was Runner of the Year.

All-Academic picks included Alex Nichols, Jamie Ross and Nathaniel Vilas of Brunswick, Clare Tolan of Morse and Jordana Joy, Elsie Morgan, Brennie Radulski and Adeline Schneider of Mt. Ararat for the girls.


Brunswick’s Brad Smith, who was the runner-up in the MPA Individual Championships at Natanis (75-76 with Gorham’s Mike Caron), was named to the First Team, along with Mt. Ararat’s Tyler O’Connor, who tied for fifth in State Class A action.

Former Bath resident and Morse graduate Mike Grace of Oxford Hills was named South Division Coach of the Year.

All-Academic picks included Smith and Morse’s Alexander Paulus.


All-Academic selections included Marissa Eltzroth and Autumn Thompson of Morse, and Morgan Bradley of Brunswick.

Comments are not available on this story.